The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Coach was right (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24592-coach-right.html)

Cyber-Ref Sun Jan 29, 2006 07:09am

11-12 boys rec. Both coaches harping all night on moving screens. None called. Finally my senior partner calls moving screen (block in my book) and it just so happens to be 7th team foul. Partner decides to shoot 1+1.

Coach of offended team calls conference claiming the new team control foul and there are not shots. Partner decides to shoot 'em anyway.

Now, player control foul = no basket, no shots. Same goes for team control foul, correct?

I think I got the call right in my mind now, since this was the first sitch I encountered with this rule. What threw mw was the coach was arguing against his own team.

At least it did not affect the outcome of the game.

yankeesfan Sun Jan 29, 2006 09:00am

no free throws. throw in only. team control foul.

ChuckElias Sun Jan 29, 2006 09:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by Cyber-Ref
11-12 boys rec. Both coaches harping all night on moving screens. None called. Finally my senior partner calls moving screen (block in my book) and it just so happens to be 7th team foul. Partner decides to shoot 1+1.

Coach of offended team calls conference claiming the new team control foul and there are not shots. Partner decides to shoot 'em anyway.

Coach is right unless this occurred during a throw-in. There's no team control during a throw-in, so if the offensive team commits a foul, you shoot the 1-and-1.

Quote:

Now, player control foul = no basket, no shots. Same goes for team control foul, correct?
I think that's safe to say, yes.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1