The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Ref part of the floor (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24418-ref-part-floor.html)

Skarecrow Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:18pm

Ref on the floor, close to the sideline, gets hit by a thrown ball that was one bounce from going out of bounds. It stays in, and is picked up by a player. Should it be left alive (ref is part of the floor) or blown dead, since it would have gone out with no one to save it???? I left it alive, and let them play....

fonzzy07 Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:20pm

You did right. i don't have my books on me, but the ref is a part of the floor and if the ref was inbounds the ball is inbounds. Good call to leave it alive.

Snake~eyes Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:23pm

Live ball - play on.

Nevadaref Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:50pm

4-4-4 A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location.


If the official was not touching out of bounds then the ball remained inbounds and the game continues.

Skarecrow Sun Jan 22, 2006 11:56pm

thanks to you all...I thought that was right...thanks again

BktBallRef Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:40am

If I ever had a ball that was alive, I believe run. ;)

Skarecrow Mon Jan 23, 2006 07:40am

come to think of it, I never really had a dead ball, either.

MichiganOfficial Mon Jan 23, 2006 09:25am

Play on!

Jimgolf Mon Jan 23, 2006 09:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Skarecrow
Ref on the floor
Where else might he (or she) be?

Jurassic Referee Mon Jan 23, 2006 09:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Originally posted by Skarecrow
Ref on the floor
Where else might he (or she) be?

Coulda been airborne from backcourt to front court.....

Is it a backcourt violation if a pass from A1 in the frontcourt hits that airborne official? :D

Skarecrow Mon Jan 23, 2006 09:57am

I guess it sounds funny that way, "on the floor," but what I hope was obvious was that I was inbounds, and not out of bounds...thanks for the humor.....

ChrisSportsFan Mon Jan 23, 2006 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by Jimgolf
Quote:

Originally posted by Skarecrow
Ref on the floor
Where else might he (or she) be?

Coulda been airborne from backcourt to front court.....

Is it a backcourt violation if a pass from A1 in the frontcourt hits that airborne official? :D

LOL :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1