The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Unmerited Free Throw (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24296-unmerited-free-throw.html)

OFISHE8 Tue Jan 17, 2006 11:21pm

Team A is awarded a one and one on the sixth team foul of B1. Mistake is discovered after the first free throw(which was missed). Does Team A get the ball back where they should have had the free throw not taken place?

truerookie Wed Jan 18, 2006 12:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Team A is awarded a one and one on the sixth team foul of B1. Mistake is discovered after the first free throw(which was missed). Does Team A get the ball back where they should have had the free throw not taken place?
Yes, this is correctable under rule 2-10. Play shall resume from the point of interruption.

rainmaker Wed Jan 18, 2006 01:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Team A is awarded a one and one on the sixth team foul of B1. Mistake is discovered after the first free throw(which was missed). Does Team A get the ball back where they should have had the free throw not taken place?
Yes, this is correctable under rule 2-10. Play shall resume from the point of interruption.

Way too simplistic of an answer, truerookie. The error is correctable, yes, but the resumption depends on some factors which we haven't yet been told. The first free throw was missed, and then was it rebounded? and did play continue until the discovery of the error? The answers will affect the resumption.

Nevadaref Wed Jan 18, 2006 04:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Team A is awarded a one and one on the sixth team foul of B1. Mistake is discovered after the first free throw(which was missed). Does Team A get the ball back where they should have had the free throw not taken place?
Rainmaker, look again closely at the specific question asked. The answer is simply NO. The game is continued from the POI. Whichever team rebounded the miss gets a throw-in from the nearest OOB spot. If neither team had gained control from the miss when the game was stopped due to the recognition of the error, then the AP arrow is used to determine possession.

Either way the game does not revert back to a throw-in by Team A from the position of the foul by B1.

Although, we don't have enough info to determine what the correct restart is, and you correctly detailed the what ifs, that wasn't what the OP asked, we do have enough info to answer the question that was asked.

So again that answer is a simplistic NO.


truerookie Wed Jan 18, 2006 07:56am

Nevadaref & rainmaker,

I believe I understand now. The shot was missed and rebounded. The error discovered. The OP did not say who rebounded the ball. This is why it is no.


I initially viewed it at as Team A being awarded an unmerited ft (at 6 instead of 7)which in turn is correctable.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Nevadaref & rainmaker,

I believe I understand now. The shot was missed and rebounded. The error discovered. The OP did not say who rebounded the ball. This is why it is no.


I initially viewed it at as Team A being awarded an unmerited ft (at 6 instead of 7)which in turn is correctable.

It <b>is</b> a case of team A being awarded a unmerited FT and thus it <b>is</b> a correctible error. Your initial view was right iow. The officials used rule 2-10-1(b) as a basis to correct the error. What Nevada is telling you is the proper way to now correct that error.

The answer was a "no" because correcting the error does <b>not</b> automatically give team A the ball back at the spot where the foul occurred as if no FT had happened, as OFISHE8 asked. The error is corrected as per rule 2-10-4&6, which says you cancel the FT that was taken, and you then resume play at the POI at the time the error was rectified. That POI was when the whistle was blown after the FT was missed. Rainmaker told you that additional info was needed and then Nevada laid out the different options in the correction, dependant on what team had the ball when the whistle was blown or whether there was no possession when the whistle was blown.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 18th, 2006 at 08:29 AM]

OFISHE8 Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:29am

Here is a new wrinkle, the administrating official of the unmerited free throw announces "two shots" instead of one and one. The free throw misses and the official comes into the lane and grabs the ball to administer the second free throw. Trail blows his whistle and the errors are realized at this point. So we have an umerited free throw by Team A and a wrong amount of free throws administered. What happens next?

FrankHtown Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:32am

So, A not only doesn't get a free throw, they don't even get the ball back. I know that's the rule, but, in your sense of fair play, doesn't that seem unjust?

Jurassic Referee Wed Jan 18, 2006 08:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
Here is a new wrinkle, the administrating official of the unmerited free throw announces "two shots" instead of one and one. The free throw misses and the official comes into the lane and grabs the ball to administer the second free throw. Trail blows his whistle and the errors are realized at this point. So we have an umerited free throw by Team A and a wrong amount of free throws administered. What happens next?
You just correct the unmerited FT, as above. Neither team had control at the POI of the correction----> so you go to an AP. The other wrinkle is an inconsequential official's error that really has no relevancy to the correction. The correction would be handled the same even if the officals had allowed a second FT also after the missed first FT. Cancel all FT's and go to the POI.

truerookie Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Nevadaref & rainmaker,

I believe I understand now. The shot was missed and rebounded. The error discovered. The OP did not say who rebounded the ball. This is why it is no.


I initially viewed it at as Team A being awarded an unmerited ft (at 6 instead of 7)which in turn is correctable.

It <b>is</b> a case of team A being awarded a unmerited FT and thus it <b>is</b> a correctible error. Your initial view was right iow. The officials used rule 2-10-1(b) as a basis to correct the error. What Nevada is telling you is the proper way to now correct that error.

The answer was a "no" because correcting the error does <b>not</b> automatically give team A the ball back at the spot where the foul occurred as if no FT had happened, as OFISHE8 asked. The error is corrected as per rule 2-10-4&6, which says you cancel the FT that was taken, and you then resume play at the POI at the time the error was rectified. That POI was when the whistle was blown after the FT was missed. Rainmaker told you that additional info was needed and then Nevada laid out the different options in the correction, dependant on what team had the ball when the whistle was blown or whether there was no possession when the whistle was blown.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Jan 18th, 2006 at 08:29 AM]

Jurassic Referee,
thanks, the poi come into play when the whistle was blown dead. Thus, the information rainmaker stated was needed. Nevada, provided the options. I understand mo better now.

bob jenkins Wed Jan 18, 2006 10:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by FrankHtown
So, A not only doesn't get a free throw, they don't even get the ball back. I know that's the rule, but, in your sense of fair play, doesn't that seem unjust?
IMO, the correctable error rule is written to encourage *both* teams to be vigilant and to avoid the error. What might look like an advantage (hey, the ref is letting us shoot FTs), can quickly turn to a disadvantage (we don't get the points and we don't get the ball).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1