The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 06, 2006, 11:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 2,193
The case play cited applies to the hallway during a time where the teams are CLEARLY off the court. The original question said "horn ending first quarter," so the case play isn't (excuse the legal jargon) directly on point.

Whether the ball goes above his head is irrelevent, but I'm going to give a player T and not the coach. The intent of the rule the case play is referencing is that coaches are directly responsible for all bench personnel and that responsibility remains when they are or should be at or near the coach's side. That's a weird way of saying it, but I said it that way for visualization.

The definition of a "player" is one who is "legally on the court..." He is legally on the court at the end of a quarter. Since a "player" committed the infraction described, this falls under 10.3.7.

Now, if he goes back to the bench and does something like this, then the indirect is proper. But don't read too much into a case play and assume it applies in ALL remotely similar situations. I, for one, don't believe the case play referenced is similar, but even granting it is, it doesn't apply.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1