The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What do you have (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/24004-what-do-you-have.html)

PIAA REF Tue Jan 03, 2006 09:34am

Player steals ball near half court. Dribbles in for an uncontested layup. Decides to throw ball off the back board, catches the ball and dunks it. What do you have?

Mark Dexter Tue Jan 03, 2006 09:40am

Assuming this is during a live ball, I have nothing. Score 2 points for his/her team.

IREFU2 Tue Jan 03, 2006 09:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
Player steals ball near half court. Dribbles in for an uncontested layup. Decides to throw ball off the back board, catches the ball and dunks it. What do you have?
A spectacular dunk!

Nate1224hoops Tue Jan 03, 2006 09:48am

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
Player steals ball near half court. Dribbles in for an uncontested layup. Decides to throw ball off the back board, catches the ball and dunks it. What do you have?
A spectacular dunk!

My thoughts exactly!! A HIGH FLYER!!

blindzebra Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:04am

For that part nothing.

For the chin up, backboard slap, chest beat and yelling that this showboat will likely follow up the dunk with, I'll have a T for taunting.;)

PIAA REF Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:12am

No
 
How about the all crowd boo after calling a double dribble.

ChuckElias Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:32am

Re: No
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
How about the all crowd boo after calling a double dribble.
What double dribble would that be, since there wasn't one in the play you described?

And who cares about the all-crowd boo? :confused:

Jurassic Referee Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:44am

Re: No
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
How about the all crowd boo after calling a double dribble.
Their partners might boo the official that called that one too.... :)

PIAA REF Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:45am

Maybe
 
Maybe I have this play confused but I believe the dribble had ended when he stopped to throw the ball off the backboard. Then if he is the first to touch the ball off the backboard which since was not a shot it would be considered a dribble thus a dribble after giving up his dribble. Therefore Double Dribble.

JCrow Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:56am

Ever see that scene in the old Boris Karloff "Frankenstein" Movie where the angry villagers are chasing the monster with pitchforks and torches?

All you could say to the fans after that call is,

"FREEEEEEND.....FREEEEEND......GOOOOOOOOOOOOD..... "

zebraman Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:57am

Re: Maybe
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
Maybe I have this play confused but I believe the dribble had ended when he stopped to throw the ball off the backboard. Then if he is the first to touch the ball off the backboard which since was not a shot it would be considered a dribble thus a dribble after giving up his dribble. Therefore Double Dribble.
Only if he threw it off his opponents backboard. Tossing it off your own backboard is not a dribble.

Z

assignmentmaker Tue Jan 03, 2006 10:57am

By convention
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
Maybe I have this play confused but I believe the dribble had ended when he stopped to throw the ball off the backboard. Then if he is the first to touch the ball off the backboard which since was not a shot it would be considered a dribble thus a dribble after giving up his dribble. Therefore Double Dribble.
By convention, the ball off the backboard was a shot.

PIAA REF Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:03am

no
 
You can't say that a underhand toss hard off the backboard was a shot. It was intended as a self pass

ChuckElias Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:12am

Re: no
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
You can't say that a underhand toss hard off the backboard was a shot.
Maybe not. But by rule, you also can't call it a dribble. Therefore, no violation.

blindzebra Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:16am

Re: no
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
You can't say that a underhand toss hard off the backboard was a shot. It was intended as a self pass
The ball off your own backboard is NOT considered a dribble.

Rule fundamentals:

19. A ball which touches the front face or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds, except that when the ball touches the thrower's backboard, it does not constitute a part of a dribble.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1