The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What to do when a fight breaks out? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23945-what-do-when-fight-breaks-out.html)

brianp134 Fri Dec 30, 2005 05:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Texas Aggie
I'm not going to give legal advice, but, as an attorney, I know what I am going to do (or not do) in any fight:

I WILL NOT under any circumstances physically (with my hands) separate players. I MIGHT, depending on the level of play and how I feel things are actually going, get in between two players that start talking at each other and are still more than a body width apart. But if hands are raised for a shove or punch, I'm backing out of there. I'm getting the numbers of anyone involved, and then I'm taking a quick look at the benches to see if anyone's off.

Whatever coaches come off and are acting as peacemakers, I'm determining that they were beckoned on the court and are allowed. Players off the bench, of course, are all ejected, and if a coach grabs an opposing player, he's gone.

I also am going to make damn sure I stay in self preservation mode, and I would probably move as close to the center of the court as possible. Get with your partner(s) and sty there until order is resolved. Do not leave the court without both or all three of you together under any circumstances. As far as officials go, its never 'every man for himself.'

At this point, if police are not in the building, I will suspend the game until they arrive, and insist that one stay with me and my partner(s) until we leave the parking lot. After the game, I am making very detailed notes on what happened and will file appropriate reports. I'm also not talking to any coaches.

Texas Aggie, why would you not want to talk to any coaches? I'm not trying to be smart, just wondering why?

Dan_ref Fri Dec 30, 2005 06:18pm