The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Putting the all on the floor for a throw in... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23939-putting-all-floor-throw.html)

aepitaz Thu Dec 29, 2005 10:50am

Watching a varsity game with a seasoned crew. 2nd half, ball goes out-of-bounds and is staying in the front court with the offensive team. The coach calls his guard over for a quick talk. The official puts the ball on the floor and begins the 5 second count. Another player runs over, picks it up and put the ball in play.

Turns out just fine, but it got me thinking. Looking through the rules and case book. I see the resumption of play procedure as being authorized for coming out of Time Outs and between halves/quarters. There is a case that specifies that putting the ball on the floor (at the disposal of the thrower) is an approved mechanic in this case.

Does anyone else use this in cases other than coming out of timeouts/periods?

Jurassic Referee Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:27am

You use other rules to cover this situation- namely R4-4-7(c), R8-5-2 & case book play 4.42.3. The key words in all of those are "placed at the <b>disposal</b>". Rule 7-6 sez that a throw-in <b>starts</b> when "the ball is at the disposal of a player of the team entitled to the throw-in", and R9-2-4 sez that you get 5 seconds to release the ball on a throw-in pass after the throw-in starts.

Put 'em all together and.......<i>Voila!</i>

The only thing that you have to watch for on this play is that the guard going over to chat with the coach didn't go OOB first at the throw-in spot. That woulda made him the "designated thrower", and he would subsequently be the only player on his team to be allowed to make a <b>legal</b> throw-in.

Hope that ain't too confusing.....

BktBallRef Thu Dec 29, 2005 11:40am

Sure.

Call'em once.

Call'em twice.

Whistle.

Call one last time.

Whistle, put it on the floor, start counting.

2-9-3
If the throw-in team does not make a player available, the official shall place the ball on the floor. The official shall hand or bounce the ball to the thrower for a throw-in unless the throw-in is from outside an end line following a successful goal.

7.5.2 SITUATION A: Following a violation, the throw-in spot has been properly designated and the covering official has waited a reasonable amount of time for Team A to provide a thrower. What does the official do now?
RULING: The official shall place the ball on the floor at the spot and begin the five-second throw-in count. Team A thrower must release the ball on a throw-in or request time-out before the five-second count is reached.

zebraman Thu Dec 29, 2005 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sure.

Call'em once.

Call'em twice.

Whistle.

Call one last time.

Whistle, put it on the floor, start counting.

2-9-3
If the throw-in team does not make a player available, the official shall place the ball on the floor. The official shall hand or bounce the ball to the thrower for a throw-in unless the throw-in is from outside an end line following a successful goal.

7.5.2 SITUATION A: Following a violation, the throw-in spot has been properly designated and the covering official has waited a reasonable amount of time for Team A to provide a thrower. What does the official do now?
RULING: The official shall place the ball on the floor at the spot and begin the five-second throw-in count. Team A thrower must release the ball on a throw-in or request time-out before the five-second count is reached.

Tony,

You are nicer than me. I call em' once, call em' twice, whistle while putting ball on floor and start counting. Haven't had to do it yet this year though (knock on wood).

Z

dblref Thu Dec 29, 2005 07:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Sure.

Call'em once.

Call'em twice.

Whistle.

Call one last time.

Whistle, put it on the floor, start counting.

2-9-3
If the throw-in team does not make a player available, the official shall place the ball on the floor. The official shall hand or bounce the ball to the thrower for a throw-in unless the throw-in is from outside an end line following a successful goal.

7.5.2 SITUATION A: Following a violation, the throw-in spot has been properly designated and the covering official has waited a reasonable amount of time for Team A to provide a thrower. What does the official do now?
RULING: The official shall place the ball on the floor at the spot and begin the five-second throw-in count. Team A thrower must release the ball on a throw-in or request time-out before the five-second count is reached.

Tony,

You are nicer than me. I call em' once, call em' twice, whistle while putting ball on floor and start counting. Haven't had to do it yet this year though (knock on wood).

Z

Unfortunately, I had to do it twice today. Same game, same half, same team.

Jayzer Fri Dec 30, 2005 01:05pm

If the ball is placed on the floor with the count started, can a team call a time out even if the ball is not in possession of a player?

Camron Rust Fri Dec 30, 2005 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jayzer
If the ball is placed on the floor with the count started, can a team call a time out even if the ball is not in possession of a player?
To call a time out, the ball must be held or dribbled by a player OR at the disposal of a thrower.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1