The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   A little help! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23783-little-help.html)

chrs_schuster Mon Dec 19, 2005 09:15pm

Im a second year ref with just a little question. Had a situation in a game the other night. Throw-in on baseline A1 throws to A2 still in frontcourt, who tips the ball that is throwin over her head and it goes into the backcourt. My partner calls over and back. If Im not mistaken you have to have team control of the ball before it goes into the backcourt for it to be over and back. correct? I did not question the call there, but I asked at halftime. We couldn't find the rule in the book. If anybody could find the precise rule I would appreciate it very much. I've looked and looked and cant seem to find it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Dec 19, 2005 09:30pm

See case book play 4.12.6(b). It's the exact play.

Ed Maeder Mon Dec 19, 2005 09:38pm

As in many cases in the rule book you must look in different places to answer this question. First 9-9-1 explains BC violation as it pertains to this question. Then 4-12-1 explains player control, and 4-12-6 explains the rest of the story. No team control during a throw in. Hope this helps. After reading JR's reply the case book usually takes the situations further.

[Edited by Ed Maeder on Dec 19th, 2005 at 09:43 PM]

Ref Daddy Mon Dec 19, 2005 10:25pm

4.12.6 SITUATION: During a throw-in by A1 from the end line by A's basket: (a) A2 is in the restricted lane area; or (b) the throw-in is touched by A2 before it goes across the division line where it is recovered by A3. RULING: There is no three-second count in (a) or a backcourt rule in effect in (b) during a throw-in. The throw-in ends in (b) when A2 touches the ball, but the backcourt count does not start until A3 gains control. (9-7, 8)

TravelinMan Mon Dec 19, 2005 11:55pm

Is the call still the same if the ball is first tipped by B1 in the frontcourt, then tipped by A2 in the frontcourt, before going backcourt? I would think it would be.

just another ref Tue Dec 20, 2005 12:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by TravelinMan
Is the call still the same if the ball is first tipped by B1 in the frontcourt, then tipped by A2 in the frontcourt, before going backcourt? I would think it would be.
Still the same. No team control in frontcourt.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1