The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   BACKCOURT OR NOT? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23749-backcourt-not.html)

OFISHE8 Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:25am

A1's pass in frontcourt tipped by B1 then tipped by A1 prior to going backcourt where A1 regains possession. Is this a backcourt violation.

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 17, 2005 10:26am

Yes, as soon as A1 touched the ball in the backcourt.

PIAA REF Sat Dec 17, 2005 11:42am

yep
 
Sure is, just remember after have team control in front court it is:

"Last to Touch, First to Touch"

BktBallRef Sat Dec 17, 2005 01:10pm

Re: yep
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PIAA REF
Sure is, just remember after have team control in front court it is:

"Last to Touch, First to Touch"

Actually, you have to have team control AND FC status.

truerookie Sat Dec 17, 2005 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
A1's pass in frontcourt tipped by B1 then tipped by A1 prior to going backcourt where A1 regains possession. Is this a backcourt violation.
Same situation without the tip by B1. Is this BC?

Jurassic Referee Sat Dec 17, 2005 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by truerookie
Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
A1's pass in frontcourt tipped by B1 then tipped by A1 prior to going backcourt where A1 regains possession. Is this a backcourt violation.
Same situation without the tip by B1. Is this BC?

Yes.

OFISHE8 Sun Dec 18, 2005 05:57pm

If B1 tips the pass and it goes backcourt, then no backcourt violation if A1 goes back and regains possession in backcourt. Why then if A1 were to tip after B1 tips would it be a backcourt violation. A tip does not mean team control does it?

Dan_ref Sun Dec 18, 2005 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
If B1 tips the pass and it goes backcourt, then no backcourt violation if A1 goes back and regains possession in backcourt. Why then if A1 were to tip after B1 tips would it be a backcourt violation. A tip does not mean team control does it?
Correct.

That's why A still has team control after B1's tip.

bob jenkins Sun Dec 18, 2005 06:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by OFISHE8
If B1 tips the pass and it goes backcourt, then no backcourt violation if A1 goes back and regains possession in backcourt. Why then if A1 were to tip after B1 tips would it be a backcourt violation. A tip does not mean team control does it?
Again, the four requirements:

1) Team COntrol
2) Ball in front court
3) A last to touch before ball goes to BC
4) A first to touch after ball goes to BC

In your first example, item 3 is not met.

In your second example, all items are met.



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1