The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 13, 2005, 04:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: N.D.
Posts: 1,829
Quote:
Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy
Quote:
Originally posted by FrankHtown
The only way Team A can save the two free throws at this point is to request a time out. Once you put the ball at the disposal of the free throw shooter (place the ball at the spot), if they enter the circle or cross the 3 point line, it's a violation, without needing the ten second count.
Frank ....
So really there is nothing they can do. The shot is lost. Right?

Once I placed the ball at the FT line, they obviously have to enter the circle to get it, its effectivly lost.

So the mechanic is that. There is no requirement or precident to counting? Once the ball is placed after a beckoning and fair patience from referee - unless there is an additional TO called - its a mute point.

Correct?


The shot is NOT lost if they call a Timeout.

And it would be a moot point, not mute.
I wish more coaches were mute.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1