The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   player calls t.o. with none left (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23664-player-calls-t-o-none-left.html)

roadking Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:36am

player inbounding ball calls T.O. to avoid five second violation with no T.O left. Is this a direct technical on player? thanks

Nevadaref Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:39am

This is a TEAM technical foul in NFHS.

Nevadaref Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:43am

NCAA it is an indirect technical foul which counts neither towards a player's five fouls for DQ nor as a team foul for the bonus.


roadking Tue Dec 13, 2005 07:46am

NFHS, does coach lose coaching box. thanks

Nevadaref Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:04am

Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
NFHS, does coach lose coaching box. thanks
Nope, not even if he is the one who requested the time-out.

See the chart on page 73 of the rules book. The Head Coach box is empty for Team techs.

Stat-Man Tue Dec 13, 2005 10:41pm

Also
 
In NFHS and NCAA-W, the team that called the extra timeout loses possession.

In NCAA-M, use POI.

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:28am

End Of Game
 
Towards the end of the game (if you are referee), when you go to make sure everything is ok with the book do you find out how many timeouts are remaining for each team?

If you do, do you tell the coach how many their team has remaining?

Camron Rust Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:41am

Re: End Of Game
 
Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Towards the end of the game (if you are referee), when you go to make sure everything is ok with the book do you find out how many timeouts are remaining for each team?

If you do, do you tell the coach how many their team has remaining?

I do find out how many are left if for no other reason than to make sure the two books are in agreement. I'd also like to know if I can not worry about timeouts and focus on the action.

If I do find out, I only tell the team if they're out. I don't say anything if they have more. Telling them they have 1 or 2 doesn't prevent anything and can be the cause of an extra timeout request. Imagine telling the coach he has 1 and he uses it only to find out they were actually out (the scorekeeper misunderstood what you were asking about).

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 12:44am

Yep, certainly agree. I usually don't tell them regardless. Like you, I do find out how many they have just to make sure the books agree. Other than that, I don't really care. If a coach doesn't have any and wants a timeout I will grant them one if I can.

Nevadaref Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Yep, certainly agree. I usually don't tell them regardless. Like you, I do find out how many they have just to make sure the books agree. Other than that, I don't really care. If a coach doesn't have any and wants a timeout I will grant them one if I can.

Ok, yes, you are required to grant them one if they ask for it, even if they don't have any left.

Furthermore, I agree with not telling them that they have X number left. That is unnecessary and can only lead to problems.

However, you ARE REQUIRED to notify the team and coach when they have used their last time-out. I hope that you do this.

Rule 2, Section 11 Scorer's Duties
ART. 6 . . . Record the time-out information charged to each team (who and when) and notify a team and its coach, through an official, whenever that team is granted its final allotted charged time-out.

tjones1 Wed Dec 14, 2005 02:40am

Yup, once and only once. Most scorers around here will tell you how many timeouts are remaining. If they tell me Team A has zero, I double check to make sure by comparing with the other book then tell the coach.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1