The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 12, 2005, 10:50pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696
Quote:
Originally posted by PickupPlayerNJ
Hi all,

I love reading this forum and learning. Here's a question that I have:

Player A is on offense and fumbles the ball. Player B (on defense) and Player A go after the ball. Player A reaches the ball, gets his hand on it, but just as he does, player B contacts player A's hand and forces the ball out of bounds. Player A is the last person to touch the ball.

My instinct tells me this is a foul on player B, but I want to be sure. I'm guessing the "hand is part of the ball" rule does not apply since no one was in immediate control of the ball.

Am I correct?

Thanks.
ART. 2 . . . It is legal use of hands to reach to block or slap the ball controlled by a dribbler or a player throwing for goal or a player holding it and accidentally hitting the hand of the opponent when it is in contact with the ball.

__________________
"Sports do not build character. They reveal it" - Heywood H. Broun
"Officiating does not build character. It reveal's it" - Ref Daddy
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1