The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   inadvertent Whistle (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23654-inadvertent-whistle.html)

malloy Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:29pm

If you have an inadvertent whistle on a live ball play what is the proper ruling? For example, a referee blows his whistle for a over and back violation and the C official comes in to let him know it was tipped by the defense and the T official changes his call. First, is that considered an inadvertent whistle and second is that the correct ruling?

blindzebra Mon Dec 12, 2005 09:54pm

Point of interuption.

TriggerMN Tue Dec 13, 2005 01:55pm

If team control has been established, POI. If not, alternate possession.

bob jenkins Tue Dec 13, 2005 02:30pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
If team control has been established, POI. If not, alternate possession.
AP is a form of POI, and might not be used if there's not TC (an accidental whistle during a throw-in, for example) See 4-36.

TriggerMN Tue Dec 13, 2005 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
If team control has been established, POI. If not, alternate possession.
AP is a form of POI, and might not be used if there's not TC (an accidental whistle during a throw-in, for example) See 4-36.

Excellent point. Thanks for the correction.

jeffpea Tue Dec 13, 2005 08:54pm

don't have the rule book in front of me, but I believe in NFHS that team control DOES exist during a throw-in. The only way to lose team control is via a shot or turnover.

In NCAA there is NO team control during a throw-in.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 13, 2005 09:07pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jeffpea
don't have the rule book in front of me, but I believe in NFHS that team control DOES exist during a throw-in. The only way to lose team control is via a shot or turnover.

In NCAA there is NO team control during a throw-in.

I believe that you have those completely reversed, Jeff.

Under NFHS rules, there is no team control during a throw-in. R4-12-6.

Under NCAA rules, there is team control during throw-ins. R4-13-2(c).

Mark Dexter Tue Dec 13, 2005 09:21pm

Quote:

Originally posted by jeffpea
don't have the rule book in front of me, but I believe in NFHS that team control DOES exist during a throw-in. The only way to lose team control is via a shot or turnover.

In NCAA there is NO team control during a throw-in.


Other way around.

This screwed me during the test - I still had college POI in my head.

jeffpea Tue Dec 13, 2005 09:26pm

I stand corrected - one of these days (by my next game)I'll get that straight in my head!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1