The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Unknowingly shooting at wrong basket... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23611-unknowingly-shooting-wrong-basket.html)

IBHookin43 Sun Dec 11, 2005 09:47am

Below is a thread from a basketball-coaching forum (mostly high school coaches). The initial situation is described below after "...The Frat wrote:...", however, the responder adds a new situation. Are these interpretations of the rules correct?

Greatly appreciate any insights. Thanks.

>>>>

"...I believe that by the rule book (even though the officials did not catch the mistake until the events
happened) you would not award shots to the person that was fouled. If she had made the basket and was fouled, you would (listen to the crowd scream on this) cancel the basket and award the ball to her team. If the bonus was in effect, then you would shoot the bonus at the correct basket.

Here is another interesting scenario along the same lines. Actually happened in a game I was officiating about 12 years ago. End of the half, loose ball around half court, kid picks up the ball and throws up a half court shot that is in the air when the buzzer sounds. Shot goes in, I wave off the basket. Coach of the opposing team goes crazy because the kid made the shot in their basket. I had to explain that a shot cannot be attempted at the opponent's basket, so when the buzzer sounded, the ball was dead. Crowd goes crazy! I loved every minute of it."

> Honest mistake.
>
> The Frat <[email protected]> wrote: Last
> night I was watching a girls middle school game and the following
> happen. After the end of either a time out or the 3rd quarter, the two
> teams come back onto the court. The team on defense sets up in their
> 2-3 zone, under the wrong goal. The girls on offense see them set up
> on defense and I assume instinctly or because they are so focused on
> the play their coach just drew up they go and line up in their
> offensive spots as matched up against the 2-3.
>
> The refs hand the inbounder the ball and sure enough they go and
> begin running their offense on the wrong goal. Now there was a
> turnover, but they stole it back before it reach halfcourt and a girl
> drove into the lane went up took a shot and was fouled.
>
> Ok, a parent screams something to one of the coaches and he realized
> they are shooting at the wrong goal, so as the ref is reporting the
> foul to the scoreres table, it's brought to everyone's attention.
>
> At this point I realize that the refs didnt realize what was going
> on either. They were just as confused as the girls were. I was
> assuming they just didnt correct the mistake because it's not their
> job to do so.
>
> So anyway, the refs huddle for a minute or so and, go ahead and
> awards the girl two foul shots. The opposing coach is livid, he wants
> to know how can it be a shooting foul if she was shooting at the wrong
> basket.
>
> Now here's my question is a foul in the act of shooting a foul that
> awards the offense free throws, REGARDLESS of whether or not the
> player was shooting in the correct goal. Or should it have been
> concerned on the floor, since it clearly wasnt a shot at her basket.
> If she would have made the shot it and the points would have been
> rewarded to the nearest player on the other team correct? So in the
> official score book, she's not recognized as attempting a shot, right?
>
> So was that the right call?


Ed Maeder Sun Dec 11, 2005 09:52am

Not a try unless shooting at your own basket. No foul shots.

mick Sun Dec 11, 2005 11:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by IBHookin43
So anyway, the refs huddle for a minute or so and, go ahead and
> awards the girl two foul shots. The opposing coach is livid, he wants
> to know how can it be a shooting foul if she was shooting at the wrong
> basket.

4-5-4: "If by mistake the officials permit a team to go the wrong direction, when discovered all points scored, fouls committed, and time consumed shall count as if each team had gone the proper direction. Play shall resume with each team going the proper direction based on bench location."

Chess Ref Sun Dec 11, 2005 12:27pm

Inbounds
 
Had this happen yesterday. Team A shoots and scores in Team B basket. Partner blows whistle to get everyone pointed in the right direction. Partner then gave the ball to team B and played continued.

My question is since Team B just received 2 points shouldn't Team A, the shooters, get the ball now ????

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 11, 2005 01:42pm

Re: Inbounds
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Chess Ref
Had this happen yesterday. Team A shoots and scores in Team B basket. Partner blows whistle to get everyone pointed in the right direction. Partner then gave the ball to team B and played continued.

My question is since Team B just received 2 points shouldn't Team A, the shooters, get the ball now ????

Case book play 5.2.3 sez yup.

Sven Sun Dec 11, 2005 03:23pm

Quote:

Team A shoots and scores in Team B basket.
In this situation, is a Team B player credited with the basket in the scorebook or is the basket indicated in a footnote?

I seem to recall reading (some years ago) a Case Book comment that credit is given to the Team B player closest to the shooter.

Or do I just think I read that???

Sven

Jurassic Referee Sun Dec 11, 2005 05:03pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Sven
Quote:

Team A shoots and scores in Team B basket.
In this situation, is a Team B player credited with the basket in the scorebook or is the basket indicated in a footnote?

I seem to recall reading (some years ago) a Case Book comment that credit is given to the Team B player closest to the shooter.

Or do I just think I read that???

Sven

You read it in rule 5-2-1.

lukealex Sun Dec 11, 2005 05:33pm

Rule 5-2-3 says "If a player scores a field goal in the opponent's basket, it is not credited to a player, but is indicated in a footnote."

bob jenkins Sun Dec 11, 2005 07:08pm

Re: Inbounds
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Chess Ref
Had this happen yesterday. Team A shoots and scores in Team B basket. Partner blows whistle to get everyone pointed in the right direction. Partner then gave the ball to team B and played continued.

My question is since Team B just received 2 points shouldn't Team A, the shooters, get the ball now ????

Since "everyone" was (apparently) going the wrong direction, then count the basket for A, get everyone turned around, and give the ball to B.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:16pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1