The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Ruling (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23399-ncaa-ruling.html)

Jay R Wed Nov 30, 2005 03:39pm

Folks,

I got a question wrong on my NCAA (CIS in Canada) Exam that irked me. The question is: A5 attempts a try. While the ball is in the air, A4 and B4 commit a double foul. Shall the official award the basket and give possession to Team B? I answered NO because that question has been on our exam for the last three years. The Approved Ruling was that the Alternating Possession should be used as there was no team control when the fouls were committed. Apparently this year the answer is YES.

My interpretor tells me that the NCAA changed that Approved Ruling this year. Here's my beef. Why is that not in the Rule Changes?

How many of you were aware of that change?

Jay

ChuckElias Wed Nov 30, 2005 04:02pm

I was indignant over this unannounced change, but nobody else seemed to care. http://officialforum.com/thread/23015

Jay R Wed Nov 30, 2005 04:52pm

Chuck,

I had not noticed the thread at the time. I have the 2005 Rule Book which I bought last year. I thought that as long as I was aware of the 2005-2006 Rule Changes that were announced, I would be OK with that book. I guess they want to make sure we buy a new rulebook every year.

Rockyroad says it's more straightforward. I agree. He alo says it was discussed at the annual meeting. Not for us it wasn't.

jritchie Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:47am

If you look at it as POI rule!! if basket goes, poi would be team b oob, because that is who would of had it if no foul....if it doesn't go, then no team control on shot, AP Arrow is poi!!! I guess they didn't think it was a big enough change to announce..who knows!

ChuckElias Thu Dec 01, 2005 10:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
If you look at it as POI rule!! if basket goes, poi would be team b oob, because that is who would of had it if no foul....if it doesn't go, then no team control on shot, AP Arrow is poi!!! I guess they didn't think it was a big enough change to announce..who knows!
Yes, jritchie, that's exactly right. They changed the interp (AR) so that both double personal fouls and double technical fouls go to the POI when the fouls occur during a successful try.

Last year, however, double personal fouls would've gone to the arrow, as there was no team control at the time of the fouls.

It seems like a pretty big deal to me, since they tested on this rule difference on every test for the last 5 years, or so. Now there is no difference. They could've at least told us about it. JMO.

Buckley11 Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:08am

Is the NFHS ruling consistent with this NCAA interp. Sorry if I missed the last thread. A quick "yes" or "no" would be appreciated.

ChuckElias Thu Dec 01, 2005 11:42am

Quote:

Originally posted by Buckley11
Is the NFHS ruling consistent with this NCAA interp. Sorry if I missed the last thread. A quick "yes" or "no" would be appreciated.

Yes, Buckley. (Are you Buckley's angel?) In the case of a successful try, the rulings are consistent. That's b/c the FED doesn't distinguish between double personal fouls and double technical fouls. They both always go to the POI.

In NCAA, this is the only case where they will both go to the POI. Normally, after double personal fouls, the ball is awarded back to the team that had control at the time of the fouls; rather than going to the POI.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:08am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1