The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Nov 26, 2005, 04:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wherever the Army sends me this year
Posts: 267
I was keeping the clock for a boys varsity tournament semi-final game. With about a minute left in the first half A1 steals the ball and gets a breakaway. At about the foul line he tosses the ball off the backboard and catches it for a slam dunk. The crew made no call. To clarify this, the player did not pick the ball up and toss it off the backboard, it was a one handed continuous motion off the dribble toss. He caught the ball and dunked it in the air. At the half Coach B asked about it and said he thought it was a travel. The crew said they were pretty sure they were right but would check it out and get back with him. Either way they made it clear the play stood and that they could not change it. At halftime we looked it up and the best we can come up with for this being legal is Article Rule 4, Section 4, Article 5 which says "A ball which touches the front faces or edges of the backboard is treated the same as touching the floor inbounds,...".

We think it was not a travel. Is that right?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:02am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1