The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 21, 2005, 02:38am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
Re: Re: Uh . . .

Quote:
Originally posted by WinterWillie
Quote:
Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by ChuckElias
You're correct that A1 did not violate. However, if it were an AP throw-in, the arrow would change since A1 did complete the AP throw-in.
4-42-5 says: "The throw-in ends when the passed ball touches, or is touched by, an inbounds player other than the thrower."

In the situation in question, the ball is touched by an out-of-bounds player, no?
You need to check R7-6-1.
R7-6-1 concurs with 9-2-2 in that " . . . The ball shall be passed by the thrower directly into the court from out-of-bound so it touches or is touched by another player (in bounds or out of bounds) on the court before going out of bounds untouched", meaning, I believe, that the thrower violates if s/he throws the ball onto the court and it goes out of bounds without first touching or being touched by a player in or out of bounds.

(Writing the same rule slightly differently in different places - what a concept, eh?)
__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1