The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Jump ball or travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/23255-jump-ball-travel.html)

Jay R Sat Nov 19, 2005 09:50pm

A-1 jumps in the air shoot or pass and B-1 touches the ball. A-1 never loses control of the ball and returns to the floor with the ball. Jump ball or travel? (NCAA rules)

blindzebra Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:11pm

Travel.

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

Lotto Sat Nov 19, 2005 10:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
A-1 jumps in the air shoot or pass and B-1 touches the ball. A-1 never loses control of the ball and returns to the floor with the ball. Jump ball or travel? (NCAA rules)

If you believe that B1's touch prevented the release of A1's pass or try for goal, then this is a held ball.

Otherwise, this is a travel.

It is never a jump ball.

2006 NCAA rules reference 4-35.1.b. and A.R. 27 & 28 immediately following.

BktBallRef Sat Nov 19, 2005 11:33pm

Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Travel.

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

Nice copy and paste! :)

But I think he's looking for NCAA. ;)

blindzebra Sat Nov 19, 2005 11:50pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by blindzebra
Travel.

4.44.3 SITUATION A: A1 jumps to try for goal. B1 also jumps and: (a) slaps the ball out of A1's hands; (b) touches the ball but does not prevent A1 from releasing the ball; (c) touches the ball and A1 returns to the floor holding the ball; or (d) touches the ball and A1 drops it to the floor and touches it first after it bounces. RULING: In (a) and (b), the ball remains live. In (c), a traveling violation. In (d), a violation for starting a dribble with the pivot foot off the floor. Since the touching did not prevent the pass or try in (b), (c) and (d), the ball remains live and subsequent action is covered by rules which apply to the situation.

Nice copy and paste! :)

But I think he's looking for NCAA. ;)

New toy syndrome.:D

Jay R Sun Nov 20, 2005 09:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by Lotto
Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
A-1 jumps in the air shoot or pass and B-1 touches the ball. A-1 never loses control of the ball and returns to the floor with the ball. Jump ball or travel? (NCAA rules)

If you believe that B1's touch prevented the release of A1's pass or try for goal, then this is a held ball.

Otherwise, this is a travel.

It is never a jump ball.

2006 NCAA rules reference 4-35.1.b. and A.R. 27 & 28 immediately following.

Jump ball was my way of saying held ball.

Jay R Sun Nov 20, 2005 09:36am

Am I correct in assuming that Fed and NCAA rules are similar in this situation? I did not find a specific interpretation in the NCAA Rulebook.

blindzebra Sun Nov 20, 2005 11:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
Am I correct in assuming that Fed and NCAA rules are similar in this situation? I did not find a specific interpretation in the NCAA Rulebook.
No, in NFHS a touch that does not stop release is a travel if A1 returns to the floor, in the NCAA a touch with return is a held ball.

At least that is how A.R. 27 read.;)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:49am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1