The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Nov 16, 2005, 05:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 2
22. A-1 is holding the ball in the frontcourt & closely guarded by B-1. As the official count is at 2, A-2 takes & holds a position between A-1 and B-1. Official stops the count. Correct?
38. A-1 is holding the ball in the frontcourt & closely guarded by B-1. As the official's count is at 2, A-2 slides or passes between A-1 and A-2. Official stops the count. Correct?

Well, obviously, the only difference is "takes & holds a position" versus " slides or passes between". We have been back and forth, and cannot figure out what the rules say. There does not seem to be a casebook play like this. My inclination is to say the count should continue, because otherwise, the offensive team can always stop the count. But, if we assume that IAABO is not simply giving the same question twice, then the official in 22 is correct and 38 is not correct. But I still cannot cite a "Why". Help? Comments?
__________________
IAABO ref CT
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1