The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Nov 14, 2005, 04:34pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by cdaref
The question is tricky because it seems to conjure up a backcourt violation (Rule 9-9). You are waiting to read that someone touched the ball, but that fact never comes in the question. Instead, the question really goes to a ten second violation (Rule 9-8). Review those two rules and you will see. That should help answer your question.

That was one of my favorite questions on the Part I exam Almost as good as the ball touching a player out of bounds question (57) and the rolling on the top of the backboard question (56), which might be my two favorite.

I like the question because in testing your knowledge about 9-8 and 9-9 (and which is applicable) it also tests your knowledge of Team Control (See Rule 4-12-3), as Cameron Rust points out.

[Edited by cdaref on Nov 14th, 2005 at 03:38 PM]
Replace the team A last to touch with B causing it to go into the back court, and ask this question.

In that case who actually starts the 10 second count before A1 recovers the ball in the BC?

I have a feeling this is one of those letter of the rule versus actual practice type of situations.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1