The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   shot goes up by A1 and A2 fouls.... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22985-shot-goes-up-a1-a2-fouls.html)

JohnBark Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:45am

A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

rainmaker Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:49am

Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

shot counts. Team control foul, no shots. B gets the ball out of bounds, and can run the endline.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

shot counts. <font color = red>Team control foul</font>, no shots. B gets the ball out of bounds, and can run the endline.

Team control during a shot?

You know better than that, Juulie.

rainmaker Wed Nov 02, 2005 11:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

shot counts. <font color = red>Team control foul</font>, no shots. B gets the ball out of bounds, and can run the endline.

Team control during a shot?

You know better than that, Juulie.

just testing!!

doggone it, I hate new rules....

JohnBark Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:07pm

had Team B been in the bonus, Team B would have shot FTs, since this is not a TEAM CONTROL FOUL situation, correct?

rainmaker Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
had Team B been in the bonus, Team B would have shot FTs, since this is not a TEAM CONTROL FOUL situation, correct?
Correct? I think? But maybe I'd better not bet the ranch...

jritchie Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:15pm

correct! no team control on shot...if b were in bonus, they would shoot!! Basket by A counts!

IREFU2 Wed Nov 02, 2005 12:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

If the basket is good, it is counted and if team b is in the bonus they shoot. If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.

Dan_ref Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

If the basket is good, it is counted and if team b is in the bonus they shoot. If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.

Not sure what you're trying to say here, but the spot is closest to the point of the foul.

IREFU2 Wed Nov 02, 2005 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

If the basket is good, it is counted and if team b is in the bonus they shoot. If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.

Not sure what you're trying to say here, but the spot is closest to the point of the foul.


Thats what I meant.

ChuckElias Wed Nov 02, 2005 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.
Don't mean to pile on, IREF, but that's not right either. If the basket is good and Team B is NOT in the bonus, then Team B's throw-in can be from anywhere along the endline.

Jurassic Referee Wed Nov 02, 2005 03:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

If the basket is good, it is counted and if team b is in the bonus they shoot. If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.

Not sure what you're trying to say here, but the spot is closest to the point of the foul.

Thats what I meant.

That coulda confused newer officials though. In this situation, the POI and the point of the foul could be 20 feet away from each other. The closest spot to one could be an endline while the closest spot to the other might be a sideline. Could be a big difference on the throw-in.

Just wanted to explain the difference a little more.

Kelvin green Wed Nov 02, 2005 10:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by IREFU2
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
A1 shoots the ball and the ball is in flight, when A2 fouls. do you count the goal if it goes in? or is this a team control foul and the shot, if it goes, is NOT counted and the ball awarded to team B closest to where the shot came from?

thanks!

If the basket is good, it is counted and if team b is in the bonus they shoot. If the basket is no good, spot the ball closet to the point of interuption. Same thing even if the basket is good.

Not sure what you're trying to say here, but the spot is closest to the point of the foul.

We should not talk about POI here. This is a foul by offense with ball in the air and no tem control. if shot is no good ball is awarded just like anyother foul. If it goes in it is from baseline like any other score.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1