The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   NCAA Rules only. (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22935-ncaa-rules-only.html)

JRutledge Sun Oct 30, 2005 09:12pm

Is it a technical foul for a defender of a throw-in to reach across and slap the ball without knocking the ball out of a player's hands? Or is this action just a warning.

This is obviously a technical foul under NF rules, but there was a debate that it was not under NCAA rules. Could you please give a rules reference or an official NCAA interpretation in your answer.

Peace

ChuckElias Sun Oct 30, 2005 09:21pm

My book's not in front of me, but I don't remember this being a difference between HS and NCAA. I'll have to look it up in the morning.

JRutledge Sun Oct 30, 2005 09:30pm

We looked it up and the case play suggested that ball had to be slapped out of the hands of the thrower. This came up because we had a play take place today where the ball was just slapped. I am trying to find independent evidence that would suggest the ball does not have to be slapped out of the thrower's hand.

This is why I hate the fact the NCAA does not have an independent casebook.

Peace

Jurassic Referee Sun Oct 30, 2005 09:35pm

I think there are a coupla differences between FED and NCAA:

1)In FED it's a direct T; in NCAA, it's an indirect T.
2)Automatic T in FED; T in NCAA only if the touching the ball delays the game.

Obviously, in NCAA, knocking the ball out of the thrower's hands will delay the game. Therefore, automatic indirect T. Just touching the ball may or may not delay the game-- up to the official's judgement. If the official thought the touching delayed the game---> indirect T. If the official thought the touching didn't delay the game, play on.

I think.

Jurassic Referee Sun Oct 30, 2005 09:47pm

Went and looked it up.......

NCAA R10-3-20(a)- <i>"When the delay does not interfere with play, it shall be ignored and play shall be be continued or be resumed at the point of interruption"</i>.

The AR about slapping the ball out of the thrower's hands follows that.

Comments, NCAA officials?

Camron Rust Sun Oct 30, 2005 10:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Is it a technical foul for a defender of a throw-in to reach across and slap the ball without knocking the ball out of a player's hands? Or is this action just a warning.

This is obviously a technical foul under NF rules, but there was a debate that it was not under NCAA rules. Could you please give a rules reference or an official NCAA interpretation in your answer.

Peace

An example that includes knocking the ball out of the hands doesn't mean that it is a condition necessary for the call...just an example.

I don't know that the NCAA is any different than NFHS but such a case can't be used to make the point either way.

Dewey1 Sun Oct 30, 2005 11:31pm

I don't have any independent evidence but in my games if a player reaches through and hits the ball out of the inbounders hands I "most likely" will call an unsportsmen like T (carries the heavier penalty than the indirect). Just hitting the ball but not knocking it "most likely" will be a delay of game warning to the defensive team. I say "most likely" because I really need to see the play to know but that is how I usually call it.

Jurassic Referee Mon Oct 31, 2005 06:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dewey1
I don't have any independent evidence but in my games if a player reaches through and hits the ball out of the inbounders hands I "most likely" will call an unsportsmen like T (carries the heavier penalty than the indirect).
NCAA rules citation that sez you can do this?

brianp134 Mon Oct 31, 2005 08:14am

definitely an indirect technical based on rule 10-3-20 ar 8.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1