The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   8.7 SITUATION A (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22845-8-7-situation.html)

assignmentmaker Tue Oct 25, 2005 10:51am

8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

rainmaker Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:16am

Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Then the POI is during the first shot. A1 gets to attempt them both, and the ending is the same as above.

assignmentmaker Tue Oct 25, 2005 11:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Then the POI is during the first shot. A1 gets to attempt them both, and the ending is the same as above.

Thanks. Makes sense to me. That there is no team control after the ball leaves the shooter's hand is irrelevant to the point of interruption because there is further business pending.

rwest Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:39pm

Just to clarify
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Then the POI is during the first shot. A1 gets to attempt them both, and the ending is the same as above.

Count the basket if the first shot was successful. If not he/she does not get a substitute free-throw. Clear the lane for the second shot, since the ball will become dead at the end of the second free-throw. Then administer the alternating possession throw-in. Correct?


joseph2493 Tue Oct 25, 2005 01:51pm

Re: Just to clarify
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rwest
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Then the POI is during the first shot. A1 gets to attempt them both, and the ending is the same as above.

Count the basket if the first shot was successful. If not he/she does not get a substitute free-throw. Clear the lane for the second shot, since the ball will become dead at the end of the second free-throw. Then administer the alternating possession throw-in. Correct?


Actually POI would say if this occured during the first free throw...you would shoot the second free throw with players in the lane and let play continue with the shot...

Ref in PA Tue Oct 25, 2005 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Actually, why toss B2 when A1 and A2 punch each other? ;)

We know what you meant, but I did a double take.

assignmentmaker Tue Oct 25, 2005 03:11pm

Ooops
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Actually, why toss B2 when A1 and A2 punch each other? ;)

We know what you meant, but I did a double take.

Ooops

Nevadaref Thu Oct 27, 2005 01:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by joseph2493
Quote:

Originally posted by rwest
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Then the POI is during the first shot. A1 gets to attempt them both, and the ending is the same as above.

Count the basket if the first shot was successful. If not he/she does not get a substitute free-throw. Clear the lane for the second shot, since the ball will become dead at the end of the second free-throw. Then administer the alternating possession throw-in. Correct?


Actually POI would say if this occured during the first free throw...you would shoot the second free throw with players in the lane and let play continue with the shot...

joseph is correct. rwest was using last season's rule.

Rick Durkee Thu Oct 27, 2005 09:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ref in PA
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
8.7 SITUATION A says:

"A1 is attempting the second free throw of a two shot foul. While the second free throw is in flight, A1 and A2 punch each other simultaneously. RULING: Both A1 and B2 are disqualified for fighting. Since this is a double personal foul, no free throws are awarded. The ball is put in play at the point of interruption. If A1's free throw is successful, Team B is awarded a throw-in from anywhere along the endline. If A1's free throw is unsuccessful, the alternating possession procedure is used. (4-19-8; 6-4-3g; 7-5-9; 4-36; 10-3-9; 10 Penalty 1c, 8a(1))"

Let's see, that would be 6 references.

What happens if the above happens while A1 is attempting the first of two free throws?

Actually, why toss B2 when A1 and A2 punch each other? ;)

We know what you meant, but I did a double take.

Great! Do we use POI on double takes, too?

SmokeEater Thu Oct 27, 2005 09:18am

Wasn't A1 disqualified and ejected do to the punch? So is team A allowed a replacement shooter on the second shot?

joseph2493 Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:36am

Quote:

Originally posted by SmokeEater
Wasn't A1 disqualified and ejected do to the punch? So is team A allowed a replacement shooter on the second shot?
A1 was not involved in the punching...that was a mis-type

SmokeEater Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:40am

Ok now I am really confused about who was involved. Originally it was A1 and A2 simultaneously punching each other ( I recognize its a typo here ). In the next part of the description it says A1 and B2 were ejected. Now was it supposed to be A2 and B1 or what??? LOL

Regardless lets say it was A1 that was ejected, would team A get a replacement shooter for the second shot?

bob jenkins Thu Oct 27, 2005 10:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by SmokeEater
Wasn't A1 disqualified and ejected do to the punch? So is team A allowed a replacement shooter on the second shot?
The original play had the fight occurring during the second FT.

Had A1 been EJ'd with another FT to be shot, then, yes, a replacement would be allowed to shoot the FT.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1