Camron Rust |
Sat Oct 22, 2005 05:46am |
Quote:
Originally posted by RookieDude
Quote:
Originally posted by Camron Rust
Should have either ignored the infraction or called a T. No warning is necessary. Rule 10-3-7.
The best choice would be to ignore the infraction since it would seal the win for the offended team. If the T is called, the offended team could still get the ball back and score.
|
Acutally, as JR so correctly quoted the Case (9.2.11 Comment) for this sitch, there is no "choice" really...the official is instructed to ignore the "last second tactic".
...Camron used 10-3-7 to call it an unsporting act...I just think it was "stupid". The coach was trying to use what he thought was a legal tactic, per the rules, to give his team a chance to win, and as usual...the coach didn't know the rules. JR's Case Play shows that the delay is neither cheating or unsporting...it is just a tactic that is ignored.
Now, since the official also didn't know the rule, or just got flustered and stopped the clock...we have a situation where you can't just run off 5 seconds, and if you give the ball to the team behind, you have allowed the team to benefit from it's tactic.
Therefore, IMO, the T is issued at this point...Hmmmm, maybe that is why ... Camron 10-3-7....to justify the T after the officials mistake.
|
I did not intend to use 10-3-7 unsporting (others specifically mention unsporting but I didn't)....I was going off an older book. The 2004-05 number is actually 10-3-6a (I don't have the new book yet so it could be different still).
<FONT COLOR=BLUE>10-3-6a: A player shall not....Delay the game by acts such as: <em>Preventing the ball from being made live promptly</em> or from being put in play.</FONT>
The original situation said "As soon as they hit the three one of their players grabbed the ball and <FONT COLOR=RED>knocked it way over to the side</FONT>."
The difference between the "delay" situation, as I see it, and this is a matter of severity. It is different than a player merely catching the ball after it drops through the net and holding it for 1-2 seconds then dropping it at that spot or a player tapping the ball towards the endline such that it slows the throwin down a little. The comparison not that much different than a common foul and an excessive contact intentional foul.
I do think that ignoring it and letting the 5 count run out is a valid (and recommended) judgement but the T is not incorrect.
Even 9.2.11 provides the option of a T if it interferes with the thrower's efforts to make a throwin. Knocking the ball so far away that they can't even pick it up seems to fit that description.
[Edited by Camron Rust on Oct 22nd, 2005 at 06:55 AM]
|