The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Timeout Player Airborn (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22762-timeout-player-airborn.html)

regs12 Thu Oct 20, 2005 10:31pm

Player A signals and vocalizing for a timeout while airborn going out of bounds, is the timeout rewarded?

MPLAHE Thu Oct 20, 2005 11:03pm

if the player has possession of the ball and the official sees/heres the request, the answer is yes

ThickSkin Fri Oct 21, 2005 07:50am

Quote:

Originally posted by regs12
Player A signals and vocalizing for a timeout while airborn going out of bounds, is the timeout rewarded?
Most coaches and players feel that it is a given if their airborn player calls timeout while falling OOB! They don't realize that there must be posession. You know, two feet inbounds and not juggling on the way to the turf...OOPS, wrong sport!

Nevadaref Fri Oct 21, 2005 09:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MPLAHE
if the player has possession of the ball and the official sees/heres the request, the answer is yes
The requesting player does NOT have to have possession of the ball. Any of his teammates could have possession or the ball could be at the disposal of that team.

Mregor Fri Oct 21, 2005 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by regs12
Player A signals and vocalizing for a timeout while airborn going out of bounds, is the timeout rewarded?
I've never rewarded a timeout.

Mregor

regs12 Sat Oct 22, 2005 02:29am

awarded oops
 

sorry my grammer was certainly incorrect..put again thanks for pointing it out

Nevadaref Sat Oct 22, 2005 04:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by regs12
sorry my grammer was certainly incorrect..put again thanks for pointing it out

We're going to nail you for your spelling too! :)

Kelvin green Sun Oct 23, 2005 02:30pm

Depends on the rules. yes in NFHS no in NBA so you get flack about this one

BktBallRef Sun Oct 23, 2005 04:50pm

Re: awarded oops
 
Quote:

Originally posted by regs12

sorry my grammer was certainly incorrect..put again thanks for pointing it out


"...put again thanks for pointing it out?" :)

Pay us no mind, we're just funnin' ya. :p

Jurassic Referee Sun Oct 23, 2005 05:46pm

Re: Re: awarded oops
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by regs12

sorry my grammer was certainly incorrect..put again thanks for pointing it out


"...put again thanks for pointing it out?" :)

Pay us no mind, we're just funnin' ya. :p

Except for Mr. Grammar and Spelling Guy.......


His teenie, weenie little head just exploded.

regs12 Sun Oct 23, 2005 07:59pm


Fair enough, I need to get it right....it's the little things that get ya, correct?

By the way for now on reward = award
put = but

I am a big boy I can take it!

WhistlesAndStripes Sun Oct 23, 2005 08:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by regs12

Fair enough, I need to get it right....it's the little things that get ya, correct?

By the way for now on reward = award
put = but

I am a big boy I can take it!

... for now on

You mean from? :D

BktBallRef Sun Oct 23, 2005 09:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Whistles & Stripes
Quote:

Originally posted by regs12

Fair enough, I need to get it right....it's the little things that get ya, correct?

By the way for now on reward = award
put = but

I am a big boy I can take it!

... for now on

You mean from? :D

ROTFLMAO! :D

God bless him, he just can't get it right! :p

ChrisSportsFan Mon Oct 24, 2005 09:59am

LOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOLOL

Johnny Ringo Fri Jun 18, 2010 02:23am

Has this rule changed?

NFHS allows a TO to be granted if a player has posession of the ball and in the aire going OOB.

However, NCAA and NBA do not.

Is this correct?

JRutledge Fri Jun 18, 2010 03:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 682452)
Has this rule changed?

NFHS allows a TO to be granted if a player has posession of the ball and in the aire going OOB.

However, NCAA and NBA do not.

Is this correct?

Yes that is correct. Unless something I missed this year the rule has not changed.

Peace

GoodwillRef Fri Jun 18, 2010 08:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 682453)
Yes that is correct. Unless something I missed this year the rule has not changed.

Peace

Even though half of the high school coaches in the country think you can't call a time-out when your airborne out of bounds...it is still legal in NFHS!

grunewar Fri Jun 18, 2010 08:56am

Just to be Consistent....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 682452)
NFHS allows a TO to be granted if a player has posession of the ball and in the aire going OOB.

However, NCAA and NBA do not.

Is this correct?

Michael Jordan would be proud.......

Not that I should be writing as I have been corrected numerous times on this Forum by the folks that JR alludes to....... :o
and I'm sure I'll be caught again!

Raymond Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grunewar (Post 682484)
Michael Jordan would be proud.......

Not that I should be writing as I have been corrected numerous times on this Forum by the folks that JR alludes to....... :o
...

...by the folks to whom JR alludes... :D

Welpe Fri Jun 18, 2010 10:20am

Poor Grune...you cannot catch a break from the grammar and spelling police. :D

Mark Padgett Fri Jun 18, 2010 11:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GoodwillRef (Post 682478)
Even though half of the high school coaches in the country think you can't call a time-out when your airborne out of bounds...it is still legal in NFHS!

Actually, the percentage is 76.2% according to the latest figures released by the Immortal Dave Foundation.

Johnny Ringo Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:10pm

What is the NCAA rule regarding this? NBA?

APG Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 682541)
What is the NCAA rule regarding this? NBA?

Here are both codes:

Quote:

NCAA:

Rule 5 Scoring and Timing Regulations
Section 12. Timeouts Not Granted

Art. 1. No timeouts shall be granted:

c. To a player or coach when an airborne player’s momentum is carrying him/her out of bounds or into the backcourt.
Quote:

NBA:

Rule No. 5-Scoring and Timing
Section VII-Timeout Requests


e. A player shall not be granted any timeout if both of his feet are in the air and any part of his body has broken the vertical plane of the boundary line. This rule also applies to the midcourt line except during throw-ins in the last two minutes of the fourth or any overtime period.

Mark Padgett Fri Jun 18, 2010 06:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 682542)
NBA:
Rule No. 5-Scoring and Timing
Section VII-Timeout Requests

e. A player shall not be granted any timeout if both of his feet are in the air and any part of his body has broken the vertical plane of the boundary line. This rule also applies to the midcourt line except during throw-ins in the last two minutes of the fourth or any overtime period.

Does this mean a coach could be granted a timeout in this situation?

nevaeh.aaric Sat Jun 26, 2010 06:34am

All players at the time of the time-out call must return to play unless an ..... An airborne player retains in-bounds or out-of-bounds status until.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:18pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1