![]() |
Partner calls a jump ball.
Shortly thereafter A1 swings elbow at B1 and connects in the eye. I blow the technical. As my partner and I approach the player on the floor her mother comes across the court (obviously not being asked to) and commences to tell us what she thinks of the calling for the night (where 2 minutes into the game). Having full knowledge of who she is a fan of I we call a technical on team B. Now here is the question...because it was a false we shot allowed team B to shoot there two free-throws with the lain cleared, then team A shot there two free-throws with the lain cleared...team A gets the ball at midcourt opposite and there is not change to the AP... Was this the correct scenario with it being a False Double |
Yes.
|
Was the injured player's mother a coach or other bench personnel?
|
Why blow the T on the mom? Just kick her out.
|
Why didn't you just have the mother removed from the gym? Where was game/site administration? Was the elbow deliberately thrown? If so, did you eject the player who threw it? I realize it's easy to ask these questions when you are not in the heat of the kitchen. The technical on the fan is a pretty harsh penalty and should not be done lightly. Here you have the mother of a player who just took an elbow in the eye. Obviously she was extremely upset and emotional. I just think that the better play here was to tell her get back to the stands or you would have her ejected or to just eject her from the game site. What was the team B coach's reaction to the "T" because of his fan? Other than these comments, with the way you called it, I believe you administered it correctly.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Procedure wise, you hit it right on the head. If the league wants the T called on fans, it was right, but in a NFHS game would you call the T or just toss the mom? I was addressing the situation from NFHS rules.
|
Quote:
My big issue was making sure that procedure (as you said) was right...first time I had a false double... [Edited by joseph2493 on Oct 20th, 2005 at 10:15 AM] |
Quote:
Was the contact during a dead ball? If so how could this NOT be a T anywhere on the planet? Maybe even flagrant. |
Joseph, given the league's rule about fans on the court, you called it -- and then administered it -- perfectly. Good job.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
My dear Mom use to see all my brother's games when he played in High School. I specifically instructed my Assignor to keep me out of my brother's League but what can I say....the guy drank alot.
One night, I got assigned to my brother's Big Game. I spoke to both Coaches and told them who I was. They respected my Integrity and had no problem. My brother was having a rough night. I had 4 early fouls on him. Then a 280 lb. kid on the other Team creamed him on a perfectly legally set blind screen. It was good a good screen, the kid gave him 2 strides easy. My brother was out cold on the floor with a broken jaw. My Mom rushes onto the Court and hits me with her purse for not calling a foul. It really hurt. I motioned to the Cops to hual her away and mentioned that she always carried a Glock in her purse. They booked her on assault and battery and she spent a night in the slammer until my old man was able to borrow bail money. My family still laughs about it at Thanksgiving and Christmas (I'm told). |
joseph, you handled that greatly from what i can tell. That is the exact definition of a false double. The only thing I would have done differently was tossed the girl for throwing an elbow if the following is true. Most everybody here doesn't enjoy or like it, but I am a hardcore lover of the NBA rules, and by their rules this is an easy ejection with no judgement involved. It is an elbow foul that made contact above the shoulder, which is grounds for automatic ejection. As far as high school goes in determining if I would eject him/her or not, I would use what the NBA uses to judge whether a foul is intentional or not. It is called W-I-F=Wind up, Impact, and Follow through. I personally think it is very helpful,JMO.
|
Quote:
Mregor |
Quote:
|
I had no judgment to make the girl had all intentions of hitting the girl...flagrant T no question...(but in some situations judgement is required)
As for mom...Administration removed the girl as soon as I reported the T...I didn't have to say a word... |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56am. |