The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   OOB Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22592-oob-question.html)

gostars Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:35pm

This happened to me in V-boys a fall league game. A1 is driving toward the basket and loses the ball A2 leaps into the air knocks the ball off B1 who is standing with both feet out of bounds. (B1 ended up out of bounds when he was chasing the loose ball.) When A2 knocked the ball off B1 he (A2) was out of bounds but still in the air and hadn't touched anything that was OOB. Whose ball?

[Edited by gostars on Oct 12th, 2005 at 02:48 PM]

Smitty Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:39pm

A's ball. It's out of bounds off of B1. You are not correct saying that A2 was out of bounds while still in the air. He was inbounds.

jritchie Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:40pm

good defense
 
sounds like a good hustle by A2...give the ball to team A oob on team B!!!!

Ref in PA Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:42pm

As long as A2's leap was from inbounds, he batted a live ball that was still in-bounds. When the ball touches B1 who is oob, the ball then goes oob on B1. Give the ball to A for a spot throw-in.

ChuckElias Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:45pm

I'm going to translate this into what I think is what you're saying happened:

Quote:

Originally posted by gostars
A1 is driving toward the basket and loses the ball A2 leaps into the air knocks the ball off B1 who is standing with both feet out of bounds.

A1 fumbles the ball. A2 bats/throws the ball at B1. B1 is touching OOB.

Quote:

(A2) was out of bounds but still in the air and hadn't touched anything that was OOB.

A2 last touched the floor inbounds. When A2 touched the ball, the ball was beyond the OOB boundary. Neither A2 nor the ball touched any object OOB.

The ball hits B1.

Quote:

Who's ball?
Whose ball? ;) (Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy couldn't let that one pass.)

If I've interpreted the sitch correctly, B1 has caused the ball to go OOB. Award the ball to Team A.

gostars Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
A's ball. It's out of bounds off of B1. You are not correct saying that A2 was out of bounds while still in the air. He was inbounds.
I understand that by rule A2 is considered inbounds since he hasn't touched anything. I was trying to clarify that A2 was over the OOB area.

Smitty Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:47pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gostars
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
A's ball. It's out of bounds off of B1. You are not correct saying that A2 was out of bounds while still in the air. He was inbounds.
I understand that by rule A2 is considered inbounds since he hasn't touched anything. I was trying to clarify that A2 was over the OOB area.

I'm curious why you posed the question then? Which part is confusing?

IREFU2 Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gostars
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
A's ball. It's out of bounds off of B1. You are not correct saying that A2 was out of bounds while still in the air. He was inbounds.
I understand that by rule A2 is considered inbounds since he hasn't touched anything. I was trying to clarify that A2 was over the OOB area.

Your understanding is correct, if he leaps from inbounds his status doesnt change until he lands out of bounds.

jritchie Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:51pm

i think the question is?
 
i think the thing in question was that since A2 was over the line, but in the air, was he considered inbounds or out?? if he left from inbounds then he is inbounds until he touches something oob!!

IREFU2 Wed Oct 12, 2005 01:54pm

Re: i think the question is?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
i think the thing in question was that since A2 was over the line, but in the air, was he considered inbounds or out?? if he left from inbounds then he is inbounds until he touches something oob!!
I think thats what I said????????

jritchie Wed Oct 12, 2005 02:02pm

yep you did!!!
 
i was trying to do work and read posts and didn't get it posted till after yours, sorry to be repetative! gimme a break!

IREFU2 Wed Oct 12, 2005 02:07pm

Re: yep you did!!!
 
Quote:

Originally posted by jritchie
i was trying to do work and read posts and didn't get it posted till after yours, sorry to be repetative! gimme a break!
No harm intended!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1