The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   FT question... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22444-ft-question.html)

JohnBark Tue Oct 04, 2005 08:57am

last night this happened. A1 attempts a free throw and the shot only hits the backboard and NOT the rim. my partner blows is dead for not hitting the rim. A's coach doesn't like the call. i was lead, so i wasn't watching the ball. i tell the coach if it didn't hit the rim, it's the correct all.

however, reading the rulebook on when a free throws, it also says touching the backboard. so, was it the correct all? or should play been allowed to continue since it only hit the backboard?

thanks!

ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:04am

9-1-3. Your partner was right.

Coach was wrong. Anybody surprised? :)

elecref Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:12am

it is a FT violation if the ball does not touch the ring. good call by your partner. the coach does not know the rules.

JohnBark Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:21am

the restrictions...
 
i read that the restrictions on players is until the ball hits the ring, backboard or until the FT end is 9-10. so, the ball could hit the backboard first,which would allow players to enter the lane and then hit the ring and still be a legal free throw action.

however 9-3 is the rule reference for the FT "He/she shall throw within 10 seconds to cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the free throw ends."


ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:29am

Re: the restrictions...
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JohnBark
i read that the restrictions on players is until the ball hits the ring, backboard or until the FT end is 9-10. so, the ball could hit the backboard first,which would allow players to enter the lane and then hit the ring and still be a legal free throw action.
The rule citation is actually 9-1-10, but yes, you're correct. The players may enter the lane once the ball hits the backboard.

Quote:

however 9-3 is the rule reference for the FT "He/she shall throw within 10 seconds to cause the ball to enter the basket or touch the ring before the free throw ends."
Again, the rule is 9-1-3, but again, you're correct.

The players may enter the lane once the ball hits the backboard. But the FT shooter still must hit the rim or else he/she has violated.

Nevadaref Wed Oct 05, 2005 04:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
But the FT shooter still must hit the rim or else he/she has violated.
What if the player makes the shot without hitting the ring? :D

Oh, what's that JR? I should be cutting Chuck some slack today due his Sox getting thumped 14-2. Ok... :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1