The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Travel or Jumpball??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/223-travel-jumpball.html)

KidKJ Thu Jan 06, 2000 05:17pm

A1 drives to the basket for a layup. While A1 is in the air and in the act of shooting B1 runs past A1 swiping at the ball as he passes by. B1 makes contact with the ball and his hand immediately comes off the ball. The contact makes A1 lose control, but not possession, of the ball. A1 returns to the floor in possession of the ball. Travel or Jumpball??

Ron Pilo Thu Jan 06, 2000 05:18pm

If I remember correctly one cannot travel unless one has control of the ball.

------------------
Ron
Seattle Officials - Women's Basketball



Tim Roden Thu Jan 06, 2000 07:13pm

Ron, as usual, is correct. Since the ball was knocked lose, then A1 gets a new dribble if he desires.

I think what you ment to ask was if the ball did not become lose what is the call. By rule it is a jump ball. However many officials do call a travel.

Dennis Flannery Thu Jan 06, 2000 09:51pm

<BLOCKQUOTE><font size="1" face="Verdana, Arial, Geneva">quote:</font><HR>Originally posted by Tim Roden on 01-06-2000 06:13 PM
Ron, as usual, is correct. Since the ball was knocked lose, then A1 gets a new dribble if he desires.

I think what you ment to ask was if the ball did not become lose what is the call. By rule it is a jump ball. However many officials do call a travel.<HR></BLOCKQUOTE>


Tim....I don't think that what you said above is correct. I think that both players have to come donw with their hands on the ball for a jump. Just because B blocked the ball, and it doesn't come loose, and a can't get a shot off don't give em a jump.

[This message has been edited by Dennis Flannery (edited January 06, 2000).]

b_silliman Fri Jan 07, 2000 01:28am

Dennis F and others,

NF Rulebook page 33, Rule 4, Section 25 HELD BALL, Art 2...An opponent places his/her hand(s) on the ball and prevents an airborne player from throwing the ball or releasing it on a try.


ken roberts Fri Jan 07, 2000 02:04pm

If A1 jumps and is prevented from releasing it on the shot by B1's hand, it's a held-ball if A1 returns to the floor while in continuous control.

However, if B1 merely touches the ball w/o preventing it from being released, it is a travelling violation if A1 returns to the floor w/o releasing it. See Case 4.42.3A...


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1