The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Final Draft Misunderstood Rules (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/22184-final-draft-misunderstood-rules.html)

BillyMac Fri Sep 16, 2005 01:23pm

This is a list of basketball rules that are often misunderstood by coaches, players, and parents. I developed this list after running up and down the court, officiating, for twenty-five years, listening to erroneous comments from players, coaches, and mostly from fans, thinking to myself, "I wish I could stop the game and explain the real rule to them". This list is not meant to train officials, but rather, is meant to educate players, coaches, and fans.

Thanks to the following Basketball Forum members for their contributions in developing this list over the past few weeks: Jurassic Referee, Camron Rust, Mark Padgett, Nevadaref, Mark Dexter, Dan ref, mdray, Jimgolf, and elecref. Thanks also to Hartsy, whose “Rules Myths” thread back in August, gave me the idea to post my list on the Basketball Forum and seek input from Basketball Forum members.

MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION OF
APPROVED BASKETBALL OFFICIALS
CENTRAL CONNECTICUT BOARD # 6

NATIONAL FEDERATION OF
STATE HIGH SCHOOL ASSOCIATIONS

1) It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player of a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule.

2) A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

3) The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

4) The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

5) The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout.

6) During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a double dribble violation.

7) The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.

8) Palming or carrying is when a player gains an advantage when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand and the player either travels with the ball or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

9) A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot, it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet.

10) The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a warning. Any subsequent violations will result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

12) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds.

13) If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

14) The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts.

15) Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it’s either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

16) Over the back is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called.

17) A defensive player does not have to remain stationary to take a charge. A defender may turn away or duck to absorb contact, provided he or she has already established legal guarding position, which is both feet on the playing court and facing the opponent. The defender can always move backwards or sideways to maintain a legal guarding position and may even have one or both feet off the playing court when contact occurs. That player may legally rise vertically. If the defender is moving forward, then the contact is caused by the defender, which is a blocking foul.

18) The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul. Incidental contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and does not constitute a foul. Contact, which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive moves, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe. Contact which does not hinder an opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.

19) A ten-second count continues when the defense deflects or bats the ball in the backcourt. When a dribbler is advancing the ball into the frontcourt, the ball maintains backcourt status until both feet and the ball touch entirely in the frontcourt.

20) During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases, team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

21) During a throwin or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

22) The closely guarded rule is in effect in frontcourt only, when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler. Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding. The count continues even if defenders switch. The five-second count ends when a dribbler gets his or her head and shoulders ahead of the defender.

23) The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player to gain an advantage. Referees will not call this violation if the player is not gaining an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt.

24) The head coach may request and be granted a timeout if his or her player is holding or dribbling the ball or during a dead ball period. A player saving the ball in the air can ask for and be granted a timeout even if that player is going out of bounds. The key is whether or not the player has control of the ball.

25) On free throws, there is a maximum of two offensive players and four defensive players in the six-marked lane spaces. The defense must be in both bottom spaces on all free throws. The shooter and all the players in the designated lane spaces must wait until the ball hits rim or backboard before entering the lane. During a free throw, no opponent, including bench personnel, may disconcert the free thrower.

26) Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the leg or foot. An unintentionally kicked ball is never illegal, regardless of how far the ball goes and who recovers it. It is also illegal to hit the ball with a fist.

27) Players may not participate while wearing jewelry. Religious medals or medical alert medals are not considered jewelry. A religious medal must be taped and worn under the uniform. A medical alert medal must be taped and may be visible. Headbands must be made of a single colored cloth. Rubber or cloth elastic bands may be used to control hair. Undershirts must be similar in color to the jersey and shall not have frayed or ragged edges. State associations may on an individual basis, allow a player to participate while wearing a head covering, if it is worn for medical or religious reasons, provided that the covering is not abrasive, hard, or dangerous, and is attached in such a way that it is highly unlikely to come off during play. Written documentation should be available.

28) Officials are not required to explain judgment calls but they may explain some calls if approached by the head coach in a respectful manner. Officials have been instructed to call technical fouls for profanity, unsporting acts and excessive complaints or verbal abuse.

29) Officials do not make calls that decide the outcome of a game. Players commit fouls and violations; officials view those infractions, judge the action, and then apply the rules of the game to what they had viewed. The rules then determine the penalty. Officials are on the court to be the only unbiased arbiters of the game. Officials are not concerned with who wins or loses, but only fairness and safety. Everyone else in that gym cares about winning, and therefore cannot look at the game objectively.

Revised 9/16/05

[Edited by BillyMac on Sep 17th, 2005 at 03:11 PM]

Junker Fri Sep 16, 2005 02:28pm

Is there any way we can make this list mandatory for every T.V and radio announcer in the nation?

elecref Sat Sep 17, 2005 11:03am

Billy. i greatly appreciate all of the work involved in putting this together. you did a great job. i have printed this off and will distribute it to the members of our local assoc. however, in #17, i just want to make one small point. in order for the defender to establish initial LGP, he/she must have both feet touching the playing court, not the floor as stated in your thread ---> 4.23.2a. just a minor point but worthy of making sure that new officials understand that the playing court in what is within the boudary lines--- sidelines and endlines. the floor includes the playing court as well as everything else in the gym.

BillyMac Sat Sep 17, 2005 02:03pm

Playing Court
 
Thanks elecref:

17) A defensive player does not have to remain stationary to take a charge. A defender may turn away or duck to absorb contact, provided he or she has already established legal guarding position, which is both feet on the playing court and facing the opponent. The defender can always move backwards or sideways to maintain a legal guarding position and may even have one or both feet off the playing court when contact occurs. That player may legally rise vertically. If the defender is moving forward, then the contact is caused by the defender, which is a blocking foul.

cford Mon Oct 03, 2005 12:22pm

I think this should be added to #23.

"Once a player receives the ball in the lane, the three-second count is suspended if the player makes a move to score."

or something like this.


Thanks for the effort everyone went to make this list. I'm going to give it to the person in charge of YBOA (& rec youth leagues) and hope that they distribute them out to the coaches/parents.

Mark Padgett Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:05pm

Is the second sentence in #23 a rule interpretation where you officiate? Many officials feel the mere fact that the offensive player is in the lane for more than 3 seconds is in itself an advantage. Besides, the rule as written does not allow for this. How many times have you felt a player was not "gaining an advantage" in the lane, so you let it go, and then an outside shot is taken and suddenly that player in the lane has outstanding inside position for the rebound?

On another point, the rule does state that "Allowance shall be given to a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal." Maybe this is the language you might want to use for that point.

assignmentmaker Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:12pm

re: the 3-second count
 
Quote:

Originally posted by cford
I think this should be added to #23.

"Once a player receives the ball in the lane, the three-second count is suspended if the player makes a move to score."

or something like this.


Thanks for the effort everyone went to make this list. I'm going to give it to the person in charge of YBOA (& rec youth leagues) and hope that they distribute them out to the coaches/parents.

Re: the 3-second count, if a player legally has the ball in the lane, enforcement of the 3-second count is suspended if, and while, the player makes a move to score; the limit on the time of suspension is 5 seconds, per the closely guarded rule.

I mean, how long can a player be in there making a move? Is this not, also, a 'closely guarded' situation?

assignmentmaker Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:39pm

Re: item 11
 
Regarding:

"11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation."

I think it would be useful to add - assuming I have stated this properly . . .

A player catching a throw-in pass while in the air may contact the frontcourt initially and subsequently make a legal landing that includes contact with the backcourt.

Grail Mon Oct 03, 2005 01:49pm

Re: Re: item 11
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Regarding:

"11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation."

I think it would be useful to add - assuming I have stated this properly . . .

A player catching a throw-in pass while in the air may contact the frontcourt initially and subsequently make a legal landing that includes contact with the backcourt.

I don't believe this is correct. A player receiving an inbounds pass may catch the ball in the air, having left the ground in the front court, and then land in the back court. Once they touch the front court, they have established the ball as front court and may not go back court.

ChuckElias Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:41pm

Grail, check out 9-9-3. It says explicitly that it doesn't matter whether the first foot touches in the frontcourt or backcourt. A "normal" landing is allowed, regardless of where the player touches first.

assignmentmaker Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:46pm

Re: Re: Re: item 11
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Grail
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Regarding:

"11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation."

I think it would be useful to add - assuming I have stated this properly . . .

A player catching a throw-in pass while in the air may contact the frontcourt initially and subsequently make a legal landing that includes contact with the backcourt.

I don't believe this is correct. A player receiving an inbounds pass may catch the ball in the air, having left the ground in the front court, and then land in the back court. Once they touch the front court, they have established the ball as front court and may not go back court.

Hi. This is Jurassic's lil' brother, Pleistocenic (hehe, just kidding). 9-9-3 sez a defensive player "may jump legally from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt."

assignmentmaker Mon Oct 03, 2005 02:49pm

Re: Re: Re: Re: item 11
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by Grail
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
Regarding:

"11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation."

I think it would be useful to add - assuming I have stated this properly . . .

A player catching a throw-in pass while in the air may contact the frontcourt initially and subsequently make a legal landing that includes contact with the backcourt.

I don't believe this is correct. A player receiving an inbounds pass may catch the ball in the air, having left the ground in the front court, and then land in the back court. Once they touch the front court, they have established the ball as front court and may not go back court.

Hi. This is Jurassic's lil' brother, Pleistocenic (hehe, just kidding). 9-9-3 sez a defensive player "may jump legally from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt."

There might be some syntactic ambiguity there! How about:

"A player who, while in the air catches a throw-in pass . . . "

Grail Mon Oct 03, 2005 03:13pm

I stand corrected

IREFU2 Mon Oct 03, 2005 03:28pm

Number 5
 
I always understood that a player could roll to pass the ball, but not roll to move away from a another defender. You may want to clarify that one. I think you said he cant roll at all.

BillyMac Mon Oct 03, 2005 06:50pm

Revised Misunderstood Rules
 
Thanks to Mark Padgett and assignmentmaker:

23) (Revised 10/3/05) The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player to gain an advantage. Referees will not call this violation if the player is not gaining an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.

Note to assignmentmaker, Grail, and ChuckElias. Your questions and comments about item #11 have already been addressed in item #21:

11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

21) During a throwin or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

Thanks to IREFU2:

5) (Revised 10/3/05) The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.

Thanks for your help with this list.

SamIAm Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:06pm

<b>13) If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.<b\>

I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.

BillyMac Mon Oct 03, 2005 09:41pm

Screening
 
Note to SamIAm:

Please see Rule 4 Definitions, Section 39 Screens, Article 5 Screening A Moving Opponent.

Thanks for your input.

bossref Tue Oct 04, 2005 01:42am

Just wondering if I deserve some credit?
 
Seeing as how I probably developed the first written page
of Misunderstood Rules (around 1980) and sent them to
you for further expansion, I just wondered if I should
be given credit for creating the list?

BTW You did a great job of refining and expanding the list,
but it was I who wrote the 26 rules that were most commonly
argued about.

Barry Alman
BOSS Officials
San Diego, CA
http://www.sdboss.com

ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 06:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.
If there were no maximum, then every screen set on a moving defender would be illegal. You'd have to give the defender an unlimited number of steps before the contact.

Dan_ref Tue Oct 04, 2005 08:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.
If there were no maximum, then every screen set on a moving defender would be illegal. You'd have to give the defender an unlimited number of steps before the contact.

Well, no.

No maximum = you can stand as far away as you like.

Maximum imposed = there is a distance beyond which you cannot legally stand.

No minimum = you an stand as close as you like.

Minimum imposed = there is a distance below which you cannot legally stand.

BillyMac Tue Oct 04, 2005 08:57am

Give Credit Where Credit Is Due
 
My apologies to bossref a.k.a. Barry Alman for not crediting him with all his help on my list of "Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules" that's been on the Official Forum Basketball web site for the past several weeks.

Originally, back in March 2005, I was asked by a friend to give a presentation on misunderstood basketball rules to his college Basketball Coaching class. In order to prepare for this presentation, I searched my own literature and the internet for information on misunderstood basketball rules. I discovered Mr. Alman's list after an internet search and his list was a great starting point. It made my preparation for this class a lot easier. I took his list and with the help of my IAABO Board #6 interpreter, made some additions and changes to the list, which I successfully used in my presentation to the class. I also discussed, with my interpreter, using this list at our annual "new rules" coaches meeting before this upcoming basketball season.

I have been a guest on the Official Forum Basketball for many years, but was reluctant to join until recently, when hoping to improve the list, I decided to share the list of misunderstood rules with members of the forum, hoping to get suggestions, comments, deletions, additions, questions, etc. from the thousands of officials on the forum, which is exactly what happened. Over the past several weeks about a dozen officials have made comments that have led to key changes on the list. In every case, I thanked and gave proper credit to the forum members suggesting the changes.

However, what I had forgotten to do, on the forum, was to give credit to the person who gave me the most initial help with the list, bossref a.k.a. Barry Alman. I had thanked Mr. Alman with an email back in March 2005, but since then, had not given him any public credit.

Thanks to bossref and all the other Official Forum Basketball members who have commented on this list. Don't stop now. Keep those comments coming.


[Edited by BillyMac on Oct 4th, 2005 at 10:20 AM]

ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:09am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.
If there were no maximum, then every screen set on a moving defender would be illegal. You'd have to give the defender an unlimited number of steps before the contact.

Well, no.

No maximum = you can stand as far away as you like.

Well, yes. If there is no maximum number of steps allowed before the contact becomes legal, then the defender would have to be allowed an infinite number of steps before contacting the screener. That would mean that anytime a moving defender hit a screen, the foul would be on the screener, b/c he should've been allowed one more step.

You can stand as far away as you like, but if there's contact it's the screener's fault, b/c the defender is allowed an infinite number of steps to get around the screen and you didn't give him an infinite number of steps.

Dan_ref Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.
If there were no maximum, then every screen set on a moving defender would be illegal. You'd have to give the defender an unlimited number of steps before the contact.

Well, no.

No maximum = you can stand as far away as you like.

Well, yes. If there is no maximum number of steps allowed before the contact becomes legal, then the defender would have to be allowed an infinite number of steps before contacting the screener. That would mean that anytime a moving defender hit a screen, the foul would be on the screener, b/c he should've been allowed one more step.

You can stand as far away as you like, but if there's contact it's the screener's fault, b/c the defender is allowed an infinite number of steps to get around the screen and you didn't give him an infinite number of steps.

I think you've got this bass ackwards.

The min/max distances applies to the screener, not the screenee. The screenee is allowed to take as many steps in any direction as he likes. The only constraints in the rules regarding the screenee is how he reacts after contact.

The screener has constraints placed on how close he can get to the screenee before he must stop moving, this distance is generally measured in the number of steps the screenee can take before making contact with the screener.

The screener has no maximum placed on the distance (number of steps) the screenee would be able to take before making contact. IOW there is no maximum on the number of steps the screener has to allow the screenee.

ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:36am

4-40-5: "When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The distance need not be more than two strides". The required distance between a screener and a moving opponent is a maximum of two strides.

Maybe we're saying the same thing, I don't know. What I do know is that the screenee gets a maximum of two steps. This rebuts Sam's claim that "I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen."

[Edited by ChuckElias on Oct 4th, 2005 at 10:38 AM]

Dan_ref Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
4-40-5: "When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The distance need not be more than two strides". The required distance between a screener and a moving opponent is a maximum of two strides.

Maybe we're saying the same thing, I don't know. What I do know is that the screenee gets a maximum of two steps. This rebuts Sam's claim that "I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen."

[Edited by ChuckElias on Oct 4th, 2005 at 10:38 AM]

Wrong.

The screenee is allowed to be given *3* steps by the screener.

This rebuts your claim that there is a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.

mick Tue Oct 04, 2005 09:53am

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
4-40-5: "When screening a moving opponent, the screener must allow the opponent time and distance to avoid contact. The distance need not be more than two strides". The required distance between a screener and a moving opponent is a maximum of two strides.

Maybe we're saying the same thing, I don't know. What I do know is that the screenee gets a maximum of two steps. This rebuts Sam's claim that "I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen."

[Edited by ChuckElias on Oct 4th, 2005 at 10:38 AM]

Wrong.

The screenee is allowed to be given *3* steps by the screener.

This rebuts your claim that there is a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.

Dan,
Give 'im a break. His Patriots lost again and it has 'im befuddled.
mick

Dan_ref Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by mick


Dan,
Give 'im a break. His Patriots lost again and it has 'im befuddled.
mick

My condolences to Chuck.

And apologies for raising the level of bickering in this thread. ;)

ChuckElias Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:18am

Well, I have to be honest. I have no idea whatsoever you're talking about. So I'll just make my point one last time and leave this thread alone.

My point, which is entirely correct and supported by the rule I quoted, is that a screener is required to give no more than two steps to a moving defender. The maximum that he is required to give is two. He is, of course, permitted to give 50 steps. Is that all you're getting at? That's not really the point of this conversation.

If there were no maximum to the requirement, then there could be no legal screens on a moving defender ever.

Dan_ref Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Well, I have to be honest. I have no idea whatsoever you're talking about.

That's pretty clear.

SamIAm Tue Oct 04, 2005 10:30am

Quote:

Originally posted by SamIAm
<b>13) If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.<b\>

I think there is not a maximum number of steps concerning setting a screen.

Chuck, Dan and BillyMac,

I am with Dan on this as far as the way I read the "rule". 13 says you get a minimum and a maximum, but does not explain a minimum and maximum to do what. As I read 13, "gets" seemed to mean the screen could be set no more than 2 steps away. After the explanations I have read, I understand and agree with your intended meaning, but would suggest further clarification. Afterall, your intentions were to simply rules for the un-educated.

PGCougar Tue Oct 04, 2005 11:45am

Quote:

Originally posted by BillyMac
This is a list of basketball rules that are often misunderstood by coaches, players, and parents.
Reviewing the ongoing debate and interpretations, I'm beginning to think you ought to include "officials" in your title too! ;)

[Edited by PGCougar on Oct 4th, 2005 at 12:47 PM]

bradfordwilkins Tue Oct 04, 2005 01:39pm

Hopefully you'll post a full version of this once all the revisions have been made... all the cutting and pasting is giving me a headache :)


BillyMac Tue Oct 04, 2005 03:10pm

Revised Version 10/03/05
 
Requested by bradfordwilkins:

MOST MISUNDERSTOOD BASKETBALL RULES

1) It is important to know the intent and purpose of a rule so that it may be intelligently applied in each play situation. A player of a team should not be permitted an advantage which is not intended by a rule. Neither should play be permitted to develop which may lead to placing a player at a disadvantage not intended by a rule.

2) A player cannot touch the ball, ring, or net while the ball is on the ring or within the basket. A player cannot touch the ball if it is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. These are examples of basket interference. It is legal to touch the ring or the net if the ball is above the ring and not touching the ring, even if the ball is in the imaginary cylinder above the ring. It is legal to hang on the ring if a player is avoiding an injury to himself or herself or another player.

3) The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending is contacting the ball on its downward flight, above the level of the rim, with a chance to go in. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

4) The front, top, sides, and bottom of the backboard are all in play. The ball cannot pass over a rectangular backboard from either direction. The back of a backboard is out of bounds as well as the supporting structures.

5) The traveling rule is one of the most misunderstood rules in basketball. To start a dribble, the ball must be released before the pivot foot is lifted. On a pass or a shot, the pivot foot may be lifted, but may not return to the floor before the ball is released. A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops. At that point that player cannot attempt to get up or rollover. A player securing a ball while on the floor cannot attempt to stand up unless that player starts a dribble. A player in this situation may also pass, shoot, or call a timeout. If the player is flat on his or her back, that player may sit up without violating.

6) During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a double dribble violation.

7) The shooter can retrieve his or her own airball, if the referee considers it to be a shot attempt. The release ends team control. It is not a violation for that player to start another dribble at that point. When an airborne player keeps control of an attempted shot that is blocked and is unable to release the ball and returns to the floor with it, that player has not traveled; it is a jump ball. If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues.

8) Palming or carrying is when a player gains an advantage when the ball comes to rest in the player's hand, and the player either travels with the ball, or dribbles a second time. There is no restriction as to how high a player may bounce the ball, provided the ball does not come to rest in a player’s hand. Steps taken during a dribble are not traveling, including several that are sometimes taken when a high dribble takes place. It is not possible for a player to travel during a dribble.

9) A player inbounding the ball may step on, but not over the line. During a designated spot throwin, the player inbounding the ball must keep one foot on or over the three-foot wide designated spot. An inbounding player is allowed to jump or move one or both feet. A player inbounding the ball may move backward as far as the five-second time limit or space allows. If player moves outside the three-foot wide designated spot it is a violation, not travelling. In gymnasiums with limited space outside the sidelines and endlines, a defensive player may be asked to step back no more than three feet.

10) The defender may not break the imaginary plane during a throwin. If the defender breaks the imaginary plane during a throwin, the defender’s team will receive a warning. Any subsequent violations will result in a team technical foul. If the defender contacts the ball after breaking the imaginary plane, it is a player technical foul and a team warning will be recorded. If the defender fouls the inbounding player after breaking the imaginary plane, it is an intentional personal foul, and a team warning will be recorded.

11) The inbounding player does not have a plane restriction, but has five seconds to release the ball and it must come directly onto the court. The ball can always be passed into the backcourt during a throwin. This situation is not a backcourt violation.

12) If a player's momentum carries him or her off the court, he or she can be the first player to touch the ball after returning inbounds. That player must not have left the court voluntarily and must immediately return inbounds. That player must have something in and nothing out. It is not necessary to have both feet back inbounds.

13) If a blind screen is set on a stationary defender, the defender must be given one normal step to change direction and attempt to avoid contact. If a screen is set on a moving defender, the defender gets a minimum of one step and a maximum of two steps, depending on the speed and distance of the defender.

14) The hand is considered part of the ball when the hand is in contact with the ball. This includes holding, dribbling, passing, or even during a shot attempt. Striking a ball handler or a shooter on that player's hand that is incidental to an attempt to play the ball is not a foul, no matter how loud it sounds or how much it hurts.

15) Reaching in is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. The mere act of reaching in, by itself, is nothing. If contact does occur, it’s either a holding foul or an illegal use of hands foul. When a player, in order to stop the clock, does not make a legitimate play for the ball, holds, pushes or grabs away from the ball, or uses undue roughness, the foul is an intentional foul.

16) Over the back is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called.

17) A defensive player does not have to remain stationary to take a charge. A defender may turn away or duck to absorb contact, provided he or she has already established legal guarding position, which is both feet on the playing court and facing the opponent. The defender can always move backwards or sideways to maintain a legal guarding position and may even have one or both feet off the playing court when contact occurs. That player may legally rise vertically. If the defender is moving forward, then the contact is caused by the defender, which is a blocking foul.

18) The mere fact that contact occurs does not constitute a foul. Incidental contact is contact with an opponent which is permitted and does not constitute a foul. Contact, which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive moves, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe. Contact which does not hinder an opponent from participating in normal defensive or offensive movements should be considered incidental.
19) A ten-second count continues when the defense deflects or bats the ball in the backcourt. When a dribbler is advancing the ball into the frontcourt, the ball maintains backcourt status until both feet and the ball touch entirely in the frontcourt.

20) During a throwin, even under a team’s own basket, if the throwin is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; or after a missed field goal attempt or a missed foul shot attempt, if the ball is deflected, tipped, or batted by an offensive player in the frontcourt to an offensive player in the backcourt; these are not a backcourt violations. In both cases team control, a player holding or dribbling the ball, has not yet been established.

21) During a throwin or jump ball, any player; or a defensive player, in making a steal; may legally jump from his or her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor, and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or the backcourt. These three situations are not backcourt violations.

22) The closely guarded rule is in effect in frontcourt only, when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler. Up to three separate five-second counts may occur on the same ball handler, holding, dribbling, and holding. The count continues even if defenders switch. The five-second count ends when a dribbler gets his or her head and shoulders ahead of the defender.

23) The intent of the three-second rule is to not allow an offensive player to gain an advantage. Referees will not call this violation if the player is not gaining an advantage. There is no three-second count between the release of a shot and the control of a rebound, at which time a new count starts. There is no three-second count during a throwin. There is no three-second count while the ball is in the backcourt. Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than three seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal.

24) The head coach may request and be granted a timeout if his or her player is holding or dribbling the ball,
or during a dead ball period. A player saving the ball in the air can ask for and be granted a timeout even if that player is going out of bounds. The key is whether or not the player has control of the ball.

25) On free throws, there is a maximum of two offensive players and four defensive players in the six marked lane spaces. The defense must be in both bottom spaces on all free throws. The shooter and all the players in the designated lane spaces must wait until the ball hits rim or backboard before entering the lane. During a free throw, no opponent, including bench personnel, may disconcert the free thrower.

26) Kicking the ball is intentionally striking it with any part of the leg or foot. An unintentionally kicked ball is never illegal, regardless of how far the ball goes and who recovers it. It is also illegal to hit the ball with a fist.

27) Players may not participate while wearing jewelry. Religious medals or medical alert medals are not considered jewelry. A religious medal must be taped and worn under the uniform. A medical alert medal must be taped and may be visible. Headbands must be made of a single colored cloth. Rubber or cloth elastic bands may be used to control hair. Undershirts must be similar in color to the jersey and shall not have frayed or ragged edges. State associations may on an individual basis, allow a player to participate while wearing a head covering, if it is worn for medical or religious reasons, provided that the covering is not abrasive, hard, or dangerous, and is attached in such a way that it is highly unlikely to come off during play. Written documentation should be available.

28) Officials are not required to explain judgment calls, but they may explain some calls if approached by the head coach in a respectful manner. Officials have been instructed to call technical fouls for profanity, unsporting acts and excessive complaints or verbal abuse.

29) Officials do not make calls that decide the outcome of a game. Players commit fouls and violations; officials view those infractions, judge the action, and then apply the rules of the game to what they had viewed. The rules then determine the penalty. Officials are on the court to be the only unbiased arbiters of the game. Officials are not concerned with who wins or loses, but only fairness and safety. Everyone else in that gym cares about winning, and therefore cannot look at the game objectively.

Revised 10/3/05

David M Wed Oct 05, 2005 07:24am

Sorry to get into this so late but I would like to see an addition to #6. Something to the effect that a player who muffs the ball when receiving a pass does not lose his/her dribble.

In #22 Should it not say "when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler" with LGP?

In #16 I would like to see something about the player boxing out not being able to back an opponent up.

mick Wed Oct 05, 2005 08:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by David M
Sorry to get into this so late but I would like to see an addition to #6. Something to the effect that a player who muffs the ball when receiving a pass does not lose his/her dribble.

In #22 Should it not say "when a defender is within six feet of the ball handler" with LGP?

In #16 I would like to see something about the player boxing out not being able to back an opponent up.

Solid.

BillyMac Wed Oct 05, 2005 12:52pm

Fumble and Boxing Out
 
Thanks to David M:

6) (Revised 10/5/05) During a fumble the player is not in control of the ball, and therefore, cannot be called for a traveling violation. A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball is unintentionally dropped or slips from a player’s grasp. After a player has ended a dribble and fumbled the ball, that player may recover the ball without violating. Any steps taken during the recovery of a fumble are not traveling, regardless of how far the ball goes and the amount of advantage that is gained. It is always legal to recover a fumble, even at the end of a dribble, however that player cannot begin a new dribble, which would be a double dribble violation. A player who fumbles the ball when receiving a pass may legally start a dribble.

16) (Revised 10/5/05) Over the back is not a foul. The term is nowhere to be found in any rulebook. There must be contact to have a foul. A taller player may often be able to get a rebound over a shorter player, even if the shorter player has good rebounding position. If the shorter player is displaced, then a pushing foul must be called. A rebounding player, with an inside position, while boxing out, is not allowed to push back or displace an opponent, which is a pushing foul.

assignmentmaker Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:39am

Re: Fumble and Boxing Out
 
I would like to raise the issue of #23 again, both for purposes of your list and in general.

Your item includes the rules book language: "Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than 3 seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal."

I believe there is more to the situation - though, admittedly, I am the only one I know who has ever called it, and not often, no . . .

Even if you don't want to include my cutting-edge (of lunacy?) point, to be made further below, I think you need more/better language for #23, something like: "If a player who has been in the restricted area for less than three seconds dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal, enforcement of a 3-second violation is suspended; if the referenced attempt to score terminates with the offensive team still in control, a violation has occurred."

That being said, here is my version of the 'real' rule . . . don't be gettin' apoplectic, some of youse.

1. If a player has (a) been in the lane with the ball for less than 3 seconds, or (b) has received the ball having been in the lane for less than 3-seconds, and said player dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal, the 3-second count continues, but enforcement of a violation is suspended, pending resolution of the attempt to score.

2. If the reference dribble and/or try for goal terminates with the team in control retaining control (as in a pass out of the lane or if the player in control dribbles out of the lane), a 3-second violation shall be called.

3. If the player in the lane with the ball as in #1 above is being closely guarded, the '5-seconds closely guarded' count also applies; it's enforcement represents the limit of how long enforcement of a 3-second violation may be suspended.




assignmentmaker Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:40am

Ooops, obviously my last post is Re: the 3-second rule
 
Ooops, obviously my last post is Re: the 3-second rule

David B Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:53am

closely guarded?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
I would like to raise the issue of #23 again, both for purposes of your list and in general.

Your item includes the rules book language: "Allowance shall be made for a player who, having been in the restricted area for less than 3 seconds, dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal."

I believe there is more to the situation - though, admittedly, I am the only one I know who has ever called it, and not often, no . . .

Even if you don't want to include my cutting-edge (of lunacy?) point, to be made further below, I think you need more/better language for #23, something like: "If a player who has been in the restricted area for less than three seconds dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal, enforcement of a 3-second violation is suspended; if the referenced attempt to score terminates with the offensive team still in control, a violation has occurred."

That being said, here is my version of the 'real' rule . . . don't be gettin' apoplectic, some of youse.

1. If a player has (a) been in the lane with the ball for less than 3 seconds, or (b) has received the ball having been in the lane for less than 3-seconds, and said player dribbles in or moves immediately to try for goal, the 3-second count continues, but enforcement of a violation is suspended, pending resolution of the attempt to score.

2. If the reference dribble and/or try for goal terminates with the team in control retaining control (as in a pass out of the lane or if the player in control dribbles out of the lane), a 3-second violation shall be called.

3. If the player in the lane with the ball as in #1 above is being closely guarded, the '5-seconds closely guarded' count also applies; it's enforcement represents the limit of how long enforcement of a 3-second violation may be suspended.




I know the interpretation is there, but I don't see a call being made in the lane of closely guarded. There are simply too many variables - who is guarding whom.

Maybe just me, but I haven't seen a call (and I never would) of closely guarded on a player in the lane.

Thanks
David

Camron Rust Thu Oct 06, 2005 12:45pm

Re: closely guarded?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by David B


I know the interpretation is there, but I don't see a call being made in the lane of closely guarded. There are simply too many variables - who is guarding whom.

Maybe just me, but I haven't seen a call (and I never would) of closely guarded on a player in the lane.

Thanks
David

Why to you need to know who is guarding who? If the player in the lane has the ball and is being guarded, that is all that matters. If the player is not being guarded, they'll shoot. I can't imagine a player being unguarded in the lane for more than a split second.

That said, I've never seen it called or seen a time it should have been called.

Smitty Thu Oct 06, 2005 05:33pm

Re: Re: Fumble and Boxing Out
 
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
1. ...but enforcement of a violation is suspended, pending resolution of the attempt to score.
What does "pending resolution of the attempt to score" even mean? If there is an attempt to score, the 3-second count goes away - the "pending resolution" is moot, no?

Quote:


2. If the reference dribble and/or try for goal terminates with the team in control retaining control (as in a pass out of the lane or if the player in control dribbles out of the lane), a 3-second violation shall be called.

If the player dribbles out of the lane, why would you call 3-seconds on him? What advantage was gained?

assignmentmaker Thu Oct 06, 2005 10:41pm

Re: Re: Re: 3 & 5 seconds coincide, briefly
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
Quote:

Originally posted by assignmentmaker
1. ...but enforcement of a violation is suspended, pending resolution of the attempt to score.
What does "pending resolution of the attempt to score" even mean? If there is an attempt to score, the 3-second count goes away - the "pending resolution" is moot, no?

Quote:


2. If the reference dribble and/or try for goal terminates with the team in control retaining control (as in a pass out of the lane or if the player in control dribbles out of the lane), a 3-second violation shall be called.

If the player dribbles out of the lane, why would you call 3-seconds on him? What advantage was gained?

You say: "What does "pending resolution of the attempt to score" even mean? If there is an attempt to score, the 3-second count goes away - the "pending resolution" is moot, no?"

But the attempt to score is only one possible resolution of the circumstance - that's why enforcement is suspended 'pending the resolution.' If the resolution is that the player passes or dribble out of the lane, enforcement of the 3-second violation is mandated. The player has had the benefit of the suspension of enforcement - gained the advantage of a special, lengthened chance to score.

Cameron, the only times I have called a 5-second violation in this context were times when, among pretty high level players, the other players basically stopped to watch the mano-a-mano in the lane and it just went on too damned long.


Smitty Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:29pm

I'm pretty sure you can't have any other resolution to an attempt to score other than a successful or unsuccessful score. If they pass or dribble out of the lane, then there was no attempt to score. I'm arguing that your semantics are poor.

I think it's very poor judgement to call 3 seconds on a guy who dribbles out of the lane. They have gained no advantage whatsoever as far as the intent of the rule.

assignmentmaker Thu Oct 06, 2005 11:48pm

I'm stunned.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
I'm pretty sure you can't have any other resolution to an attempt to score other than a successful or unsuccessful score. If they pass or dribble out of the lane, then there was no attempt to score. I'm arguing that your semantics are poor.

I think it's very poor judgement to call 3 seconds on a guy who dribbles out of the lane. They have gained no advantage whatsoever as far as the intent of the rule.

I've never seen an official do anything other than call the violation if a player ceases to try for goal via dribbling out or passing out of the lane and has been in longer than 3 seconds. As I said, the player has gained a great advantage - the opportunity to take longer than 3-seconds in the lane.


Camron Rust Fri Oct 07, 2005 02:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Smitty
I'm pretty sure you can't have any other resolution to an attempt to score other than a successful or unsuccessful score. If they pass or dribble out of the lane, then there was no attempt to score. I'm arguing that your semantics are poor.

I think it's very poor judgement to call 3 seconds on a guy who dribbles out of the lane. They have gained no advantage whatsoever as far as the intent of the rule.

This is one that must be called. That player having been in the lane beyond the limit is only given the extra time to complete the scoring attempt. Doing anything else is a violation.

assignmentmaker Sun Oct 09, 2005 01:13am

A player may slide on the floor
 
"A player may slide on the floor while trying to secure a loose ball until that player’s momentum stops."

A player having secured a loose ball may slide on the floor until that player’s momentum is exhausted.

assignmentmaker Sun Oct 09, 2005 01:52am


"7) If, in this situation, the shooter releases the ball, then this is simply a blocked shot and play continues."

I believe somewhere there's language that says if the shooter in the air drops or loses control of (releases) the ball as a result of a defender's play, it's still a held-ball. I've felt that the boundary condition is, did the shooter release it (lose control) or did the defender knock it out.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1