The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of bounds - what's the call?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21786-out-bounds-whats-call.html)

dorsett Wed Aug 17, 2005 03:05pm

In going after a loose ball, a player who is in bounds (but falling out of bounds) tips the ball back in play. He then proceeds to fall out of bounds. He runs back onto the court, secures both feet in bounds, picks up the ball and begins dribbling.

is this a legal play?

thanks for the help

- Dan

IUgrad92 Wed Aug 17, 2005 03:15pm

Legal play.

ChuckElias Wed Aug 17, 2005 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by dorsett
is this a legal play?
Legal in HS, NCAA, and NBA.

Camron Rust Wed Aug 17, 2005 03:53pm

Legal even if only one foot touches inbounds and the other is not touching OOB.

lookin2improve Wed Aug 17, 2005 06:02pm

what is the rule reference?
thanks

blindzebra Wed Aug 17, 2005 06:05pm

Legal as described, but it becomes an illegal dribble if you replace the tips the ball with throws the ball, and keep everything else as posted.

ChrisSportsFan Wed Aug 17, 2005 06:12pm

It's in the case book but since my lovely wife cleaned off my desk, my books are not readily available to give you exact info. If a players momentum causes him to go OOB, he can come back in and secure the ball once he has "something in and nothing out".

Sit-tight, someone will be along shortly and give you the details.

canuckrefguy Wed Aug 17, 2005 07:13pm

This is even legal in FIBA !!

(not that there's anything wrong with that)

:D

Jurassic Referee Wed Aug 17, 2005 07:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lookin2improve
what is the rule reference?
thanks

NFHS--see casebook plays 7.1.1B,C&D.

NCAA-the rules are on-line at http://www.ncaa.org.

Camron Rust Thu Aug 18, 2005 01:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by lookin2improve
what is the rule reference?
thanks

Player location rule...player is where they're touching. If airborne, they're where they last touched. If touching both in and out, they're out. THere are no requirements stating how much of the body must be touching. In fact, they don't even have to be inbound by having their feet on the floor inbounds: they're inbounds if their butt is inbounds and nothing is touching OOB.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1