The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Over and back - pivoting (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21416-over-back-pivoting.html)

lukealex Fri Jul 22, 2005 08:47am

Is it an over and back violation if A1 has the ball, one foot in FC, one foot in BC, picks up BC foot to pivot (assume no travel), and places that foot in the BC?

I thought I read somewhere that it was, but I'm not sure sicne I can't find where I thought I read it or heard it, and I can't match a casebook play to it either.

bob jenkins Fri Jul 22, 2005 09:15am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Is it an over and back violation if A1 has the ball, one foot in FC, one foot in BC, picks up BC foot to pivot (assume no travel), and places that foot in the BC?

I thought I read somewhere that it was, but I'm not sure sicne I can't find where I thought I read it or heard it, and I can't match a casebook play to it either.

What was A1's position when both feet were on the floor? BC.

What was A1's position when the BC foot was lifted? FC.

What was A1's position when the foot was returned to the floor? BC.

Looks like a violation to me.

And, you are correct that there's a specific case on this.


Rizzo21 Fri Jul 22, 2005 09:43am

Ironically, I just read this this morning in the 04-05 Case Book (4.4.1). It IS a violation. By lifting the non-pivot foot from the backcourt he/she has established postion in the frontcourt.

lukealex Fri Jul 22, 2005 09:52am

I've always been told about the three points (2 feet and ball) when determining FC/BC status, how valid is that argument?

Snake~eyes Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:03am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
I've always been told about the three points (2 feet and ball) when determining FC/BC status, how valid is that argument?
That's only when dribbling the ball.

M&M Guy Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:04am

Soooo, let me get this straight. A1 is dribbling up the court, mumbling to him/herself because they just gave up that easy basket. They dribble up to the center line, and as they're dribbling across the line, they put one foot in the front court, pick up the other foot from the backcourt, and just as that back foot is in the air, they realize they're dribbling right into a trap! So, they put that back foot down back in the backcourt and dribble back into the backcourt. And the dilligent official calmly blows the whistle for the violation, because they knew once the ball was being bounced in the frontcourt, and the player lifted that foot from the backcourt, the player had frontcourt status.

Right? ;)

M&M Guy Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:08am

Darn you, snake~eyes! Here was my attempt at sarcasm and humor, and you beat me to it with a simple, straightfoward answer. :)

That's the exception that most young officials miss (and I did too, for a long time). The "3-points" rule only applies to a player dribbling from the backcourt to the front.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:26pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1