The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Slapping Backboard (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/21391-slapping-backboard.html)

Stripes33 Wed Jul 20, 2005 08:51am

I'm sure this has been asked before but here go's.
NFHS rules.

A1 has a break-away layup, B1 runs him down and slaps the backboard intentionally after the shot has been released.

I know this is a technical but does the basket count if it goes in or is it a dead ball. Two shots and sideline.

BktBallRef Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:14am

The ONLY foul that causes a shot to become dead is a player control foul.

lukealex Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:15am

This can be called a T, depending on severity and intention. The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.

bob jenkins Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
Not true.

lukealex Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:23am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
Not true.

Why not

Say the ball is on the rim when the backboard is slapped hard enough to push the whole structure, causing the rim to move. Is this any different from pulling on the net or the rim itself when the ball is on the rim?

mj Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
Not true.

...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

lukealex Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:32am

Quote:

Originally posted by mj
...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

4.6.4 says "pulls down a movable ring," which I realize doesn't include slapping the backboard, but the cause and effect are the same.

Jurassic Referee Wed Jul 20, 2005 09:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Quote:

Originally posted by mj
...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

4.6.4 says "pulls down a movable ring," which I realize doesn't include slapping the backboard, but the cause and effect are the same.

The cause and effect may be the same in your eyes, but unfortunately the rules don't see it the same way that you do. To have BI, you <b>have</b> to touch either the ball or any part of the basket. If you don't touch one or t'other, the rules say that you can't have BI.

canuckrefguy Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The ONLY foul that causes a shot to become dead is a player control foul.
....provided it isn't a game played under NCAA Mens rules.... :)

BktBallRef Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:24am

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The ONLY foul that causes a shot to become dead is a player control foul.
....provided it isn't a game played under NCAA Mens rules.... :)

What does the original post say? NFHS rules.

BktBallRef Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Quote:

Originally posted by mj
...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

4.6.4 says "pulls down a movable ring," which I realize doesn't include slapping the backboard, but the cause and effect are the same.

Cause and effect have nothing to do with it. You won't find the words "slapping the backboard" under the B! rule. Therefore, it is not BI.

tomegun Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:26am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
This can be called a T, depending on severity and intention. The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
For anyone who hasn't been in this situation yet:

It is a cop out and totally wrong to call this BI! I have seen this done several times and it is one of my pet peeves. DO NOT CALL BI. THERE IS NO RULE TO SUPPORT IT!

Sorry for yelling but I hate this and the guys I've seen do it are basically afraid to call a T.

alfreedog Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by mj
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
Not true.

...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

So in your humble opinion that is not a good reference to this to be call an basket interference. So what would be the determining factor so it could be call or not.

Dan_ref Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:41am

Quote:

Originally posted by alfreedog
Quote:

Originally posted by mj
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
Not true.

...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

So in your humble opinion that is not a good reference to this to be call an basket interference. So what would be the determining factor so it could be call or not.

The determining factor is if the player pulls down the moveable ring and it strikes the ball before it returns to its original position.

Just like the rule says IIRC.

ChuckElias Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by alfreedog
Quote:

Originally posted by mj
...read definition of basket interference.
So in your humble opinion that is not a good reference to this to be call an basket interference. So what would be the determining factor so it could be call or not.

Al, the determining factor is the definition of basket interference. That's why mj said to read it. The definition tells you exactly what basket interference is, and hitting the backboard is not in the definition. Therefore, it is never BI to slap the backboard in HS or NCAA.

ChrisSportsFan Wed Jul 20, 2005 10:53am

lukealex, we had this thread a while back and I was where you are on it. However much we like or dislike it, that's the rule.

Jay R Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:22am

For what it's worth, intentionally slapping the backboard is basket interference in FIBA rules.

Does anyone know the rule NBA rule for slapping the backboard? Just curious.

ChuckElias Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The ONLY foul that causes a shot to become dead is a player control foul.
....provided it isn't a game played under NCAA Mens rules.... :)

Are you hinting at a team-control foul? Those also exist in NCAAW.

ChuckElias Wed Jul 20, 2005 11:29am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jay R
For what it's worth, intentionally slapping the backboard is basket interference in FIBA rules.

It's worth about 2/100 of a Euro :)

Quote:

Does anyone know the rule NBA rule for slapping the backboard? Just curious.
RULE NO. 11-BASKETBALL INTERFERENCE-GOALTENDING

Section I-A Player Shall Not:

i. Vibrate the rim or backboard so as to cause the ball to make an unnatural bounce.

canuckrefguy Wed Jul 20, 2005 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by canuckrefguy
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The ONLY foul that causes a shot to become dead is a player control foul.
....provided it isn't a game played under NCAA Mens rules.... :)

What does the original post say? NFHS rules.

D'OH....

My bad.

Mark Dexter Wed Jul 20, 2005 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Quote:

Originally posted by mj
...read definition of basket interference. It doesn't say that.

4.6.4 says "pulls down a movable ring," which I realize doesn't include slapping the backboard, but the cause and effect are the same.

Not quite. The purpose of the "movable ring" rule is to deal with (a) the basket being totally out of position (i.e., 30 degrees or more), and (b) the recoil - the rim hitting a ball in flight on its way back to the default position. The fact that the rim is shaking is not the rationale for the BI here.

lukealex Thu Jul 21, 2005 09:58am

Got it, I have seen it called BI, more than once too. I'm glad I have this cleared up now. Thanks

Whack em!!

crazy voyager Thu Jul 21, 2005 02:24pm

Firstly, I have no check on the NCAA rules NBA rules or whatever regarding this, I know the swedish rules like the back of my hand cause I ref with swedish rules in sweden, but, I would allow a slap on the backboard unless the ball has begun decending, then I would, immedietly call a goaltending awarding two points, not even bothering wheter or not the ball goes in (the points go anyway), how ever, if the ball is on the ring it is allowed (in sweden) to hit it away by fingers or touching net, ring or backboard to try and make it go in/out the basket, therefore I wouldn't call if the ball already had touched the ring. But if it were decending I would call it goaltending, no techinical

Joe McCain Fri Jul 22, 2005 03:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
This can be called a T, depending on severity and intention. The basket will count if it goes, this could also be called basket interference if it is determined the basket moved enough to cause the ball not to go through the basket.
You might consider a rule review. Slapping the backboard can NEVER be basket interferance. It is indeed a Technical foul. Basket counts if the ball goes in followed by two free throws and the ball at half court for a throw-in.

See Rule 4: definitions

Joe McCain Fri Jul 22, 2005 03:34am

Folks! This is as easy as they get.

Have you people bothered to actually read the rules? You know, that cute little book you might have paid for.

Slapping the backboard IS a technical in both NFHS and the NCAA PERIOD!

We don't have the luxury of choosing to call it only if we want to, and it most unequivicably it is not, nor can it ever be either Basket Interferance or Goaltending.

SHEEESH!

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 22, 2005 04:54am

Quote:

Originally posted by Joe McCain
Folks! This is as easy as they get.

Have you people bothered to actually read the rules? You know, that cute little book you might have paid for.

Slapping the backboard IS a technical in both NFHS and the NCAA PERIOD!

We don't have the luxury of choosing to call it only if we want to, and it most unequivicably it is not, nor can it ever be either Basket Interferance or Goaltending.

SHEEESH!

Folks, this is as easy as the rules that define it.

Have you bothered to actually read the rules lately, Joe? Those cute little books you might have paid for? :)

My rule books from both rulesets say that the act of slapping the backboard must be an <b>intentional</b> act. Iow, it is a judgement call whether the player was going for a legitimate block or was just trying to draw attention to himself or maybe vent a little. If you judge that the player whacking the board was going for the block, then it sureashell <b>isn't</b> a technical foul- no matter how hard you might whack the board or how much the board shakes.

Slapping the backboard is <b>not</b> an automatic technical foul in both the NFHS and NCAA rulesets -PERIOD!

SHEESH! :)

ChuckElias Fri Jul 22, 2005 08:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Joe McCain
You might consider a rule review. Slapping the backboard can NEVER be basket interferance. It is indeed a Technical foul. Basket counts if the ball goes in followed by two free throws and the ball at half court for a throw-in.

See Rule 4: definitions

Thanks for the tip. Here's a tip for you. Read the whole thread before swooping in to the rescue. We got your answer 48 hours ago.

Quote:

Folks! This is as easy as they get.

Have you people bothered to actually read the rules? You know, that cute little book you might have paid for.


What's with the condescension? You know so much more then the rest of us? Get off your freakin' high horse and join in some discussion before dignifying us with your wit and wisdom. Or if that is your idea of discussion, you can keep your wit and wisdom to yourself, as far as I'm concerned.

lukealex Fri Jul 22, 2005 08:32am

As Chuck said, we did get the answer long ago. I was corrected and am glad I was so I don't screw it up in a game.

This is an OFFICIAL'S forum, don't you think about 100%, give or take 0%, of the officials here have read the rulebook?

canuckrefguy Fri Jul 22, 2005 08:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by Joe McCain
Folks! This is as easy as they get.

Have you people bothered to actually read the rules? You know, that cute little book you might have paid for.

Slapping the backboard IS a technical in both NFHS and the NCAA PERIOD!

We don't have the luxury of choosing to call it only if we want to, and it most unequivicably it is not, nor can it ever be either Basket Interferance or Goaltending.

SHEEESH!

Um, at the risk of being impolite,

WHO THE HELL IS THIS GUY, ANYWAY?

:rolleyes:

tomegun Fri Jul 22, 2005 08:40am

I asked the same question in another thread.

Who is Joe McCain?

Jurassic Referee Fri Jul 22, 2005 10:31am

Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
I asked the same question in another thread.

Who is Joe McCain?

Well......someone who doesn't know the whacking-the-backboard rule obviously.

LOL! :D

tomegun Fri Jul 22, 2005 12:00pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by tomegun
I asked the same question in another thread.

Who is Joe McCain?

Well......someone who doesn't know the whacking-the-backboard rule obviously.

LOL! :D




YEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHH!!!!!!! :D

roadking Fri Jul 22, 2005 01:05pm

help me with my game management issue (handling coach)defensive player goes to block ball hits backboard causes ball to rattle out of basket coach not happy. do you explain rule to the coach next deadball or just tell the coach defender went for the block, not intensional. thanks

ChuckElias Fri Jul 22, 2005 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally posted by roadking
do you explain rule to the coach next deadball or just tell the coach defender went for the block, not intensional. thanks
Either and/or both, roady. If he's squawking as you go by, a quick "He was playing the ball, Coach" might help. Then if he's still asking you about it, at a dead ball you find a spot close to him and explain "It's not BI b/c he didn't touch the basket or the ball in the cylinder, and he was playing the ball so it's not a T."

That's about all you can do. But he's still not going to be happy. :)

buckrog64 Fri Jul 22, 2005 02:07pm

I called a T on this during a soph game last year at a local school. Of course it was the player's second T, so he was bounced from the game. The first he received after shoving an opponent. Not surprised to find my underclassmen schedule all that exciting this year. All just for doing my job?

Camron Rust Fri Jul 22, 2005 03:25pm

Quote:

Originally posted by buckrog64
I called a T on this during a soph game last year at a local school. Of course it was the player's second T, so he was bounced from the game. The first he received after shoving an opponent. Not surprised to find my underclassmen schedule all that exciting this year. All just for doing my job?
Are you saying your schedule is not as good as the year before because you had an ejection?

IREFU2 Fri Jul 29, 2005 10:47am

Technical Foul for intentionally slaping the backboard.

refTN Fri Jul 29, 2005 02:32pm

So if a kid makes a legit play on the ball but smacks the backboard hard enough to shake the rim and to your judgement that was what caused the ball to miss, you mean to say by rule there is no call?

IREFU2 Fri Jul 29, 2005 02:55pm

SECTION 3 PLAYER TECHNICAL

A player shal not

ART. 5 . . .

a. Place a hand on the backboard or ring to gain an advantage.
b. While a try or tap is in flight or is touching the backboard or is in the basket or in the cylinder above the basket, intentionally slap or strike the backboard or cause the ring to vibrate.

It doesnt really say, but if the shot goes in and the backboard is intentinally slapped, score the basket and two shot for the T, ball taken opposite of the table at mid court and give back to the team. Just my thoughts.

ChuckElias Fri Jul 29, 2005 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
So if a kid makes a legit play on the ball but smacks the backboard hard enough to shake the rim and to your judgement that was what caused the ball to miss, you mean to say by rule there is no call?
Yes, that's what we're saying.

bob jenkins Fri Jul 29, 2005 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by refTN
So if a kid makes a legit play on the ball but smacks the backboard hard enough to shake the rim and to your judgement that was what caused the ball to miss, you mean to say by rule there is no call?
Yes -- and not only in the .....SEC

buckrog64 Sun Jul 31, 2005 11:27am

I do believe my schedule was affected, yes. My number of games at that same level this year, compared to last year is reduced. Sad to see it happen, but I'll just work as hard as I can every chance I get. Stuff happens.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1