![]() |
A1 throws the ball in from his frontcourt, throws it over his teammates head into the backourt and the ball appears to be headed out of bounds when A1 requests a time out. What is my reference and do I grant the time out?
|
NF 5-8-3. The ball must be in control or at the disposal of a team in order to have a timeout granted. There is no control during a throw in once the throw in starts - and the ball is not "at the disposal" of the team once it is thrown in.
In this case, ignore the request. |
Mark beat me to the reply. See Case Book 5.8.3.D (b) - your exact play.
|
NF rules...You got to have "player control" (not just team control)during a live ball to be granted a TO.
|
actually it's in control of a player OR at the disposal of
I gave a timeout in a close game this past week in this situation, comments? Sitch: 2 point game after made basket by B with about 5 seconds to go, they call timeout. A1 comes to get the ball and I tell him he can run the baseline. I give him the ball and start the count, get to about three and A2 starts yelling at A1 to "call timeout, call timeout". I granted a timeout to team A, they end up winning the game by 2 points. |
Quote:
BTW, I'd grant it. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25am. |