The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 25, 1999, 06:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 17
Post

This is too easy! 9-9 exception 1 (and 2 for a great defensive play) basically state that a player who catches a throw-in while airborne has a right to land with both feet prior establishing themself on the court. Thus with the first foot landing in the frontcourt does not mean anything as the other foot has not landed. Now the second foot lands in the backcourt - no violation.

If a player has a foot completely touching frontcourt and the other airborne then catches the ball then puts the airborne foot in the backcourt, this is a b/c violation. The difference between the two (and what the exception allows) is one is totally airborne and the other is not.

How about making this tougher? Let's say the airborne player who jumped from the frontcourt catches the ball and passes the ball to a teammate in the backcourt. What's the call? Is college and high school rules the same?
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1