The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Running the baseline (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20994-running-baseline.html)

lukealex Thu Jun 23, 2005 02:26pm

When A1 can run the endline, B1 commits a foul before the ball in inbounded. Does A1 lose the ability to run the endline if the throw in is still on the endline? I wouldn't think so.

What about if A1 throws the ball in bounds and it is kicked by B1?

Basically, what violations and/or penalties will remove or keep the ability to run the endline?

JRutledge Thu Jun 23, 2005 02:36pm

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
When A1 can run the endline, B1 commits a foul before the ball in inbounded. Does A1 lose the ability to run the endline if the throw in is still on the endline? I wouldn't think so.
If the ball will go back to the baseline, then the answer is no the right to "running the baseline" is not lost.

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
What about if A1 throws the ball in bounds and it is kicked by B1?
If the ball comes back to the baseline, then team A still has the right to run the baseline.

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Basically, what violations and/or penalties will remove or keep the ability to run the endline?
There are no penalties that will remove the privilege of running the baseline if the ball comes back to the end line. If the foul or violation takes place somewhere else on the floor, then of course there is no retaining of the ball on the end line. At least there are no violations or fouls I can think of right now that lose the privilege if the ball goes back to the end line.

Peace

ChuckElias Thu Jun 23, 2005 02:42pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Basically, what violations and/or penalties will remove or keep the ability to run the endline?
There are no penalties that will remove the privilege of running the baseline if the ball comes back to the end line.

As long as the foul or violation occurs before the throw-in is completed.

JRutledge Thu Jun 23, 2005 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias

As long as the foul or violation occurs before the throw-in is completed.

Right.

Peace

lukealex Thu Jun 23, 2005 02:58pm

Got it

Thats what I figured, but wanted to make sure

Thanks

Snake~eyes Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:22pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
When A1 can run the endline, B1 commits a foul before the ball in inbounded. Does A1 lose the ability to run the endline if the throw in is still on the endline? I wouldn't think so.
If the ball will go back to the baseline, then the answer is no the right to "running the baseline" is not lost.

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
What about if A1 throws the ball in bounds and it is kicked by B1?
If the ball comes back to the baseline, then team A still has the right to run the baseline.

Quote:

Originally posted by lukealex
Basically, what violations and/or penalties will remove or keep the ability to run the endline?
There are no penalties that will remove the privilege of running the baseline if the ball comes back to the end line. If the foul or violation takes place somewhere else on the floor, then of course there is no retaining of the ball on the end line. At least there are no violations or fouls I can think of right now that lose the privilege if the ball goes back to the end line.

Peace

Don't have by books on hand but what about an intentional foul?

ChuckElias Thu Jun 23, 2005 09:48pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Don't have by books on hand but what about an intentional foul?
Nope, designated spot. You get the FTs, but you don't get to keep the "running the endline" privilege. I think that was clarified just this past season.

Snake~eyes Thu Jun 23, 2005 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Snake~eyes
Don't have by books on hand but what about an intentional foul?
Nope, designated spot. You get the FTs, but you don't get to keep the "running the endline" privilege. I think that was clarified just this past season.

That's what I thought, there's your exception Rut ;)

Nevadaref Sat Jun 25, 2005 02:37am

obviously that covers a flagrant foul too
 
There was a change last season, which added the word common to 7-5-7. Therefore, the ruling on this play changed.

2004-05 NFHS Basketball Rules Interpretations
Posted: 10/08/04 on http://www.nfhs.org

SITUATION 6: Team A scores a field goal. B1 picks up the ball and steps out of bounds at the end line to prepare for a throw-in. Before the throw-in is completed, A2 is called for an intentional (or flagrant) foul on B3 near the end line. RULING: B3 would shoot the two free throws for the intentional (or flagrant) foul with the lane cleared. Team B will then have a designated spot throw-in on the end line. (7-5-7, 7-5-11)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:31am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1