![]() |
I know you can't give a TO to the team without the ball while the ball is live. But what if a TO is requested and the ref blows the whistle when he/she shouldn't have? What should you do?
Grant the TO but kick yourself? No TO, inadvertent whistle, give ball back to offense? |
The timeout must be granted.
NFHS Casebook 2004-05 5.8.3 Situation E: The official erroneously grants Team B a time-out in a situation when Team B cannot have one. What happens now? Ruling: Team B is entitled to use the time-out since it was granted. The time-out once granted cannot be revoked and is charged to Team B. All privelages and rights permitted during a charged time-out are available to both teams. (From my physical book, not my dumb online one. ;) :D) |
I think the common sense thing to do is to consider the erroneous timeout as an inadvertant whistle. That does not apply to every situation, but I think for most situations that is the best thing to do.
Peace |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:55pm. |