The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Confused re:backcourt sitch (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20706-confused-re-backcourt-sitch.html)

justacoach Sun Jun 05, 2005 07:24pm

Sorry, brain-dead from a long w/e on the hardwood. Please provide FED rules cite on this sitch:

A has team control in backcourt, passes ahead toward division line. A2 jumps from his frontcourt, catches ball and lands in backcourt.

Whadda you got B/C or legal play


Thanks

Dribble Sun Jun 05, 2005 07:29pm

I don't have my rulebook in front of me, but that's definitely a backcourt violation. "Over and back!"

rainmaker Sun Jun 05, 2005 07:35pm

Tweet!!

Mark Dexter Sun Jun 05, 2005 10:30pm

Well, my rulebooks are currently packed away, but I can tell you the reasoning for this is that once a player achieves frontcourt status, he maintains that until he touches the backcourt. While in the air, he's in the frontcourt, and once he touches down, he's then in the backcourt - same as carrying it back if dribbling.

Nevadaref Sun Jun 05, 2005 11:31pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Dexter
Well, my rulebooks are currently packed away, but I can tell you the reasoning for this is that once a player achieves frontcourt status, he maintains that until he touches the backcourt. While in the air, he's in the frontcourt, and once he touches down, he's then in the backcourt - same as carrying it back if dribbling.
Here are the rule citations that go with Mark's explanation:

RULE 4 -- SECTION 35 PLAYER LOCATION
ART. 1 . . . The location of a player or nonplayer is determined by where the player is touching the floor as far as being:

a. Inbounds or out of bounds.
b. In the frontcourt or backcourt.
c. Outside (behind/beyond) or inside the three-point field-goal line.

ART. 2 . . . When a player is touching the backcourt, out of bounds or the three-point line, the player is located in backcourt, out of bounds,or inside the three-point line, respectively.

ART. 3 . . . The location of an airborne player with reference to the three factors of Article 1 is the same as at the time such player was last in contact with the floor or an extension of the floor, such as a bleacher.


RULE 9 -- SECTION 9 BACKCOURT
A player shall notÂ…
ART. 1 . . . Be the first to touch a ball after it has been in team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.
ART. 2 . . . While in team control in its backcourt, cause the ball to go from backcourt to frontcourt and return to backcourt, without the ball touching a player in the frontcourt, and be the first to touch it in the backcourt.

Furthermore:
ART. 3 . . . A player from the team not in control (defensive player or during a jump ball or throw-in) may legally jump from his/her frontcourt, secure control of the ball with both feet off the floor and return to the floor with one or both feet in the backcourt. The player may make a normal landing and it makes no difference whether the first foot down is in the frontcourt or backcourt.
PENALTY: (Section 9) The ball is dead when the violation occurs and is awarded to the opponents for a throw-in from the designated out-of-bounds spot nearest the violation.


Notice that the airborne player does not qualify for the 9-9-3 exception to the backcourt violation because he is from the team that is in control already.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:57pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1