The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   The board is slow, so......... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20372-board-slow-so.html)

Mark Padgett Mon May 16, 2005 05:08pm

Situation: A1 is dribbling in front court. Name as many ways as you can think of that would cause team A to have to give the ball over to team B for a throw-in. NF rules.

Don't just say - "turnover" - specify the type of turnover, e.g. travel.

Let's see how long a list we can make. Special prize to whoever thinks of the most obscure way.

M&M Guy Mon May 16, 2005 05:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Situation: A1 is dribbling in front court. Name as many ways as you can think of that would cause team A to have to give the ball over to team B for a throw-in. NF rules.

Don't just say - "turnover" - specify the type of turnover, e.g. travel.

Let's see how long a list we can make. Special prize to whoever thinks of the most obscure way.

Travel, double dribble, kicked ball (by the offense), held ball with the arrow to B, calling an excess TO, and calling JR a blind old fart. ;)

eventnyc Mon May 16, 2005 05:32pm

Out of bounds violation, traveling, illegal dribble, 5 seconds closely guarded, 3 seconds, backcourt violation (over and back), kick, fist, player control foul.

Jurassic Referee Mon May 16, 2005 05:45pm

Quote:

Originally posted by M&M Guy
[/B]
Travel, double dribble, kicked ball (by the offense), held ball with the arrow to B, calling an excess TO, and calling JR a blind old fart. [/B][/QUOTE]
JR: "That's a T"

Player: "For what? Telling the truth"

JR: "hummahummahummahumma...... Inadvertant whistle. Your ball".

PGCougar Mon May 16, 2005 05:51pm

Ummm
 
I believe the question was while dribbling in the front court... Can you be called for a traveling while you are dribbling???

[Edited by PGCougar on May 16th, 2005 at 06:54 PM]

canuckrefguy Mon May 16, 2005 05:58pm

Flagrant technical foul after Coach A runs over to B's bench and punches out Coach B?

:D Hey, it could happen....


rainmaker Mon May 16, 2005 06:13pm

Re: Ummm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PGCougar
I believe the question was while dribbling in the front court... Can you be called for a traveling while you are dribbling???

[Edited by PGCougar on May 16th, 2005 at 06:54 PM]

I suppose it depends on what your definition of "is" is. She could end her dribble and then do something illegal, such as travel, or a carry or a double dribble.

PGCougar Mon May 16, 2005 07:38pm

Re: Re: Ummm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
... She could end her dribble and then do something illegal, such as travel, or a carry or a double dribble.
I know I'm nit-picking but... can you carry after you've ended your dribble? ;)

Camron Rust Mon May 16, 2005 08:06pm

Depending on what you mean by dribbling in the frontcourt...

Mark, I can only think of one way ;)

A1, having hopped on one foot while dribbing from the backcourt, simultaneously
<LI>is lifted by A2 (T)
<LI>hangs on the rim with one hand (T)
<LI>while the ball, after being dribbled really hard, bounces on the rim (BI)
<LI>strikes the ball with the other fist (V)
<LI>reaches 10 seconds in the backcourt (V)
<STRIKE><LI>reaches 3 seconds in the lane (V)</STRIKE>
<LI>directs profanity at an official (T)
<LI>crashes into B2 (PC)
while
<LI>A3 runs OOB around a screen and is deliberately tripped by coach B (V,T)
<LI>A4 punches an opponent on the bench who fights back(Double-T)
<LI>A5 also intentially shoves B2 (Multiple)
<LI>B3, B4, and B5 all take off their jerseys on the court(3 T's)
<LI>Coach A runs onto the court to protest the OOB call you missed 2 quarters back. (T)
all with 0.3 second on the clock when team B has to arrow and the scorer doesn't stop the clock until time epires and coach A, as a result of A1-A5 all either fouling out or being DQ'd, adds a JV player to the book to continue the game.

[Edited by Camron Rust on May 16th, 2005 at 09:29 PM]

Camron Rust Mon May 16, 2005 08:10pm

Re: Re: Re: Ummm
 
Quote:

Originally posted by PGCougar
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
... She could end her dribble and then do something illegal, such as travel, or a carry or a double dribble.
I know I'm nit-picking but... can you carry after you've ended your dribble? ;)

Yes. You can only carry after you've ended the first dribble. A carry is just a special case of the illegal (double) dribble or the travel rule.

To carry, you must end the first dribble by briefly catching the ball and then start a new dribble. If the action which starts the carry is not followed by another dribble, it is not a violation, it is only the end of the first dribble.

It just all happens so much faster than a plain double dribble that it confused people to call them the same.

The NFHS actually tried to combine the call with the illegal dribble (or traveling depending on the specifics) call a few years ago but it only created confusion.

[Edited by Camron Rust on May 16th, 2005 at 09:12 PM]

ChuckElias Mon May 16, 2005 08:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
<LI>reaches 10 seconds in the backcourt (V)
<LI>reaches 3 seconds in the lane (V)

Something's not right there. . .

Camron Rust Mon May 16, 2005 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
<LI>reaches 10 seconds in the backcourt (V)
<LI>reaches 3 seconds in the lane (V)

Something's not right there. . .

Oops. You're correct! Can't have both.

brainbrian Mon May 16, 2005 08:41pm

Fun topic. :)

<li>The referee realizes team A has 6 or more players on the court.
<li>Time expires and team B gets the ball to start the next quarter.
<li>A1 dribbles really high by the basket and an offensive goaltending or basket interference is called.
<li>Any foul on an offensive player, illegial screen, holding, player control, etc.
<li>A2 runs out of bounds.
<li>The scorer sounds the horn - even though they shouldn't - for a correctable error.
<li>Team B's coach calls a timeout and you award it to him to correct a correctable error.
<li>A1 shoots... and he scores!
<li>The referee steals the ball from him and throws it out of bounds. :D

Mark Padgett Mon May 16, 2005 08:56pm

Geez - none of you guys came up with this:

A1's dribble was stepped on by A1 which caused him to fall, since the floor was now slippery. While falling, he grabbed the ball with both hands before touching the ground with the top of his head. Therefore, he traveled.

Hey - I've dribbled on the court when I wasn't even in the game many times. Just ask Juulie.

BTW - the "special prize" (which looks like it's going to Camron at this point) is a video of Billy Packer misquoting a rule while wearing fishnets.

mdray Mon May 16, 2005 10:28pm

A1's very wierd interrupted dribble bounces up and passes through the basket from below ....ball to B OOB


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1