The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   order of occurence? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/20286-order-occurence.html)

refTN Wed May 11, 2005 07:53pm

I was just reading the NFHS case book and 7.5.7 Sit A confused me. My question is does this go in order of occurence. Say the player control is before the goaltend.

I was just wondering because what if the player never goaltends and the offensive player still commits a player control foul. The basket does not count no matter whether the pc was after the ball went through or not. I would appreciate some clarification in the FEDs ruling on this. Why don't we just use ncaa rule where there is no pc after the ball is released (if i am incorrect in this ncaa ruling let me know).

BktBallRef Wed May 11, 2005 08:01pm

The case play is correct. The order of occurrence is why the basket is awarded.

1- Airborne shooter.

2- Releases the ball.

3- Goaltending, which is a violation which causes the ball to become dead.

4- Contact, PC foul.

Because the violation occurred first, the basket is awarded. Had the contact occurred before the GT, the GT would be ignored.

rainmaker Thu May 12, 2005 12:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The case play is correct. The order of occurrence is why the basket is awarded.

1- Airborne shooter.

2- Releases the ball.

3- Goaltending, which is a violation which causes the ball to become dead.

4- Contact, PC foul.

Because the violation occurred first, the basket is awarded. Had the contact occurred before the GT, the GT would be ignored.

Technically, I think the basket is not awarded, but two points are awarded.

SeanFitzRef Thu May 12, 2005 09:56am

Similar question, sitch that came up in a game this past weekend.

A1 grabs a rebound after a missed shot, fouled by B1. A1 is set to shoot 1 & 1. After foul is called, B1 pushes A1 in the back, and partner calls a T. Which free throws are shot first, the T or the bonus?

Partner insisted we shoot the T first, then bonus, then A gets ball back. I htought it should have been bonus, then T, then A gets ball at halfcourt opposite the table.

BktBallRef Thu May 12, 2005 10:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
The case play is correct. The order of occurrence is why the basket is awarded.

1- Airborne shooter.

2- Releases the ball.

3- Goaltending, which is a violation which causes the ball to become dead.

4- Contact, PC foul.

Because the violation occurred first, the basket is awarded. Had the contact occurred before the GT, the GT would be ignored.

Technically, I think the basket is not awarded, but two points are awarded.

Technically, you're being obtuse. Again.

Jurassic Referee Thu May 12, 2005 10:28am

Quote:

Originally posted by SeanFitzRef
Similar question, sitch that came up in a game this past weekend.

A1 grabs a rebound after a missed shot, fouled by B1. A1 is set to shoot 1 & 1. After foul is called, B1 pushes A1 in the back, and partner calls a T. Which free throws are shot first, the T or the bonus?

Partner insisted we shoot the T first, then bonus, then A gets ball back. I htought it should have been bonus, then T, then A gets ball at halfcourt opposite the table.

Using FED rules, you were right. It's a false double foul and you penalize the fouls in the order that they occurred.

Even with NCAA rules, I think that you don't go POI on this one because it was a dead-ball contact "T". A would get the ball because of the "T", not the POI. Someone correct me if I'm wrong.

ChiliBob Thu May 12, 2005 10:57am

Correct. In this situation you have a live ball common foul that awards a 1 on 1 attempt. The foul (the wistle) stops play and we are at a dead ball. The push after the wistle is a dead ball foul and is a "T" by rule. The penatlies are administered in the order of occurance. Shoot the 1 on 1 (with lane clear), then the 2 for the "T" and the ball is awarded to the team that the "T" was awarded.

I had this this past season. Player A was fouled (the foul in my opinion was normal) then player A retaliated. Player A shot the 1 on 1 then team B selected a player to shoot the "T" and team B got the ball at half court.

ChuckElias Thu May 12, 2005 11:11am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Even with NCAA rules, I think that you don't go POI on this one because it was a dead-ball contact "T".
For men, this is an intentional T. Two shots and the ball.

It's also two shots and the ball for women, but they don't call it "intentional", I think.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:22am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1