The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Apr 05, 2005, 04:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
Quote:
Originally posted by brainbrian
In the Illinois-NC game I thought it did roll over the backboard (off the back) not off the end.

It's only illegial if the ball passes over a rectangular backboard right? Meaning that in Situation 2 it would depend on the shape of the backboard? Or not?

NFHS Rule 7-1-2 Note: "When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard."
Yes. For the few HS gyms that still use a fan-shaped backboard, the ball can legally pass over the backboard (so long as it doesn't hit supports, wires etc.).

Z
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:37pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1