![]() |
Had this happen last season. A lame scenario, but this board is S-L-O-W.
Team A scores. Team B is granted a T.O. Team B will be able to run the baseline on the throw-in. Coach of B asks me where the throw-in will be. I had never given much thought of it (the beginning location of an endline throw-in) so I said, "you can take it on either side of the hoop and then your player can run the baseline. Where would you like it?" He chose a specific side because he wanted to run a certain play and needed to know the exact spot. As officials, do we need to pick the "starting spot" for the endline throw-in? What if we decide to take it on the left side of the lane line and the throwing team returns from the T.O. and wants to take it on the other side? Hypothetically, what if they want the baseline throw-in to start 2-feet from the sideline? Z |
My thinking is the starting spot for the throw-in should be closest to where the ball was at the time of the reguest. If the ball is in the middle of the lane, then they can choose a side.
|
If the T is opposite the Table when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended opposite the Table.
If the T is Table-side when the timeout request was granted, the ensuing throw-in will be start at the free throw lane extended Table-side. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Z |
Quote:
7-5-7 says ANYWHERE along the endline. If the throwing team requests a side, there is no rule support to deny that request. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The fact that a timeout has been granted does not mean that a switch or in the case of this play a rotation should occur. The procedure that I described in my initial post still allows the team making the throw-in to make its throw-in from anywhere along the baseline. This procedure is applicable whether the officiating crew is a two-person or three-person crew. Watch the NCAA Tournament games this weekend and you will see that the procedure I described will be the one will be used. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
You still have not given a rule or manual citation to say the officials dictate the starting spot. Once again there is no rule support to deny a request for a starting spot by the throwing team. |
Quote:
BZ: No matter whether the game is being played under NFHS, NCAA Men's/Women's, of FIBA, there are no circumstances where the team dictates where it wants the ball to be inbounded. Like I said watch the games this weekend. MTD, Sr. |
There is nothing in the rules that says you have to do things one way or another as it relates to where you give the ball to a player. I guess if it really matters to you, then do what the coach requests. There is just no justification for it either way.
Peace |
Quote:
If the coach asks tell him his guy can run the line. If he asks what side he's gonna start from you might as well point to the side you were just at. If he objects change your mind. No big deal. |
Quote:
My feeling is the starting spot should be closest to where the ball was at the time of the request and if it is directly below the basket I'd give team A the option if asked, "Where is the throw-in spot?" Let's test your mechanic. Team A takes the ball OOB after the made basket and begins the throw-in opposite the new T, then a TO is requested. Your mechanic now changes the starting spot from the location of the ball when the TO was granted to the opposite side of the lane.;) I seriously doubt I see that done this weekend.:D |
While I agree with MTD that the officials should be in the same positions when resuming play after the timeout but it is not etched in stone that the officials MUST stay.
Remember, the mechanics manual allows us to make adjustments. I would grant the coach's wish and give the ball to his team on whichever side he wants. I do so as a courtesy, because it is not prohibited by rule, and is just good game management. No reason to alienate a coach on such a trivial matter. Would I ruin a great game because I am too RIGID in my mechanics, or by flaunting my rules knowledge, just so I don't have to walk an extra 15 feet to resume play? Not in a million years. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
NCAA 7-5-10 (Men): After an intentional technical foul or a flagrant technical foul, any team member of the offended team may attempt the free throws and the ball shall be put back in play by any player of that team from a designated spot at the division line at either side of the playing court. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Et tu, Daryl? |
Quote:
Chuck: Your correct and I should receive ten lashes with a wet noodle for forgetting. Since the NCAA uses the point-of-interuption for just about all technical fouls, I just simply forgot. Thanks. Mark |
Quote:
|
What good is 10 or 20 lashes to MTD when Juulie already had me stabbing him in the back. I didn't get to be LEADER by only administering lashes (notice I didn't say spankings).
|
Quote:
disclaimer; Any similarities in the last name in no way implicates any person now living or appearing on the Officials Forum and is purely a coincidence. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
[/B][/QUOTE]Ah, Longinus. Very famous inventor too. He invented an excellent early method of keeping time. Yup, saw one of those Longinus sundials in a museum once. Man, musta been hard though, running around with one of those heavy things strapped on your wrist.And trying to keep it wound all the time too? Btw, Brutus really was a backstabber.Who can forget all of the snide remarks he made about Longius? He said -- <i>"Longinus? Now there's a dude that don't know whether to sh*t or wind his watch!"</i>. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03pm. |