The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   travel then hard foul (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/19094-travel-then-hard-foul.html)

oc Sun Mar 13, 2005 08:41am

A1 goes in for a lay-up and travels (3 steps) followed by B1 fouling A1 hard nocking A1 into the second row. Hard enough to be an intentional foul-probably not flarant.

What's the call-HS Fed rules? I'm thinking just a travel but the foul was pretty hard to ignore. Can it be a technical on a dead ball even though it happened so fast the travel wasn't called yet?

Saw this in the Rockets-Suns game. Of course since this is NBA so the travel wasn't called. A1 saw the foul coming and braced for it-maybe even went looking for it. Refs called normal foul.

Jurassic Referee Sun Mar 13, 2005 09:19am

If the player actually travelled, then traveling is the correct (and only) call. If you judge the contact after the travel as intentional or flagrant, then the subsequent call would be an intentional or flagrant technical foul.

Just follow your instincts as to which is best for that particular situation. The rules back you up.

Nevadaref Sun Mar 13, 2005 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by oc
A1 goes in for a lay-up and travels (3 steps) followed by B1 fouling A1 hard nocking A1 into the second row.
...
Hard enough to be an intentional foul-probably not flagrant.
...
What's the call-HS Fed rules? Can it be a technical on a dead ball even though it happened so fast the travel wasn't called yet?

Correct would be to first call the traveling violation. Now you remember that the ball is dead at the time of the violation, not when the whistle blows for the official to then make the call. Therefore, the contact is during a dead ball and if, as you say, the contact was severe enough to be called an intentional foul then you have an intentional technical foul.


tjones1 Sun Mar 13, 2005 10:09pm

Yep, check out 4-19-1

<i>Note: Contact after the ball has become dead is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter.</i>

:D

[Edited by tjones1 on Mar 14th, 2005 at 11:28 AM]

Snake~eyes Mon Mar 14, 2005 01:35am

better edit that post there tjones... before we have some crude jokes.

QuebecRef87 Mon Mar 14, 2005 09:35am

Quote:

Originally posted by tjones1
Yep, check out 4-19-1

<i>Note: Contact after the ball has become head is ignored unless it is ruled intentional or flagrant or is committed by or on an airborne shooter.</i>

LOL! How come Mark Padgett hasn't said anything yet?! :p


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1