The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sun Feb 27, 2005, 07:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 508
I didn't see this in today's Kansas/OSU game, but a son called to ask me for a ruling.

The ball was being passed a long ways down the floor from A1 to A2, who was beyond B1. The pass was short. B2 backed up to intercept it as A2 sped up the floor towards the ball. For argument's sake, say that, as they collided, each was able to touch the ball.

I am interested from a high school rules perspective. I have in mind, in particular, 4.27.2, which says " . . . Contact which occurs unintentionally in an effort by an opponent to reach a loose ball, or contact which may result when opponents are in equally favorable positions to perform normal defensive or offensive movements, should not be considered illegal, even though the contact may be severe . . ."

I understand that there is team control while a live ball is being passed, but the 'or' phrase in the text above, does not state whether or not the condition of 'loose ball' carries over. If it doesn't, and they had equal opportunity to catch the pass . . .


__________________
Sarchasm: the gulf between the author of sarcastic wit and the recipient.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1