![]() |
While watching a game this past weekend (H.S. rules), a player from team A rebounds a missed shot under team B's basket with about 1 second remaining in the period. He turns and heaves a shot toward his own basket, which falls short, but almost goes thru the basket on the bounce.
Had that ball went thru, would that shot counted? If it makes any difference, the bounce occurred after the horn. |
No, no basket either way. Once the ball touches the floor that try is unsuccessful -- but two point<i>s</i> would be good if it went in before the horn (5-1-1).
Edit: <i>s</i> [Edited by tjones1 on Feb 28th, 2005 at 03:39 PM] |
If you mean it bounced off the floor, it would have to go in prior to the horn. In this case, it would not count. The ball is live after a horn as long as the try might go in. Once the try will not go in, the game is over. In this case, the game is over as soon as the try hits the floor. If the bounce had been before the horn, the game would have been over as soon as the horn sounded. No basket unless it actually goes through before the horn sounded. And then, only two points.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:54am. |