The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Weird call in UCLA/Notre Dame game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18825-weird-call-ucla-notre-dame-game.html)

JugglingReferee Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Ball is sailing OB, last touched by A, in front of B's bench. A1 has a reasonable chance to get the ball with clean hands. B coach extends his arms and catches the ball before the ball touches OB.

By rule, it's B's ball. What do you call?

(Yes, B coach is standing OB.)

Apples and oranges, Mike, apples and oranges. The officials are part of the court. it's that simple.

Maybe. Just tell me what you would call!

Dan_ref Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:16pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Are you saying that by not granting a timeout earlier the officials "owed one" to ND? And they were right to pay them off?
Of course not, Dan. I was just setting a precidence (sp?) that ND was screwed earlier in the game. And a T to boot.

I cost a team a possession late in a JV final once, because I didn't do what was right, because it went against what I was taught. (JR: my P was Evans, at BCI.)

I will never do that again (in that sitch anyways).

It still sounds to me like you're trying to paint what might have been "make good" call (I didn't see it so I have to go by the descriptions I'm reading here) as the proper thing to do.

BTW, what happened in your play?

Jurassic Referee Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Ball is sailing OB, last touched by A, in front of B's bench. A1 has a reasonable chance to get the ball with clean hands. B coach extends his arms and catches the ball before the ball touches OB.

By rule, it's B's ball. What do you call?

(Yes, B coach is standing OB.)

Apples and oranges, Mike, apples and oranges. The officials are part of the court. it's that simple.

Maybe. Just tell me what you would call!

If I think that A1 had a shot a saving the ball and the coach deliberately interfered with the ball to negate that possible save, I'd "T" the coach up for interfering with the play.

Now, that's a judgement call. Where is the judgement on the other call that we're discussing? A Notre Dame player last touched the ball in-bounds before it went OOB. No judgement is required now to make the call. It's UCLA's ball. Touching an official in-bounds(or OOB for that matter) would not mitigate that call in any way.

[Edited by Jurassic Referee on Feb 28th, 2005 at 04:46 PM]

Smitty Mon Feb 28, 2005 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Are you saying that by not granting a timeout earlier the officials "owed one" to ND? And they were right to pay them off?
Of course not, Dan. I was just setting a precidence (sp?) that ND was screwed earlier in the game. And a T to boot.

The T was more than justified. The camera was on the ND coach the whole time he's on the playing court yelling "That was BullSh*t!!!" over and over at the ref. It wasn't difficult to read his lips. For what it's worth, the ref he was yelling at didn't call the T - one of his partners did.

Forksref Mon Feb 28, 2005 05:02pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JugglingReferee
Ever seen those movies where inmates say, "lawyer screwed me?"

So ND...

... is not granted a requested timeout.

... and is then assessed a Technical foul.

... is then interfered with by game management.

... and then looses a possession by no act of their own.

The HD coach should stand up and bend over, because that's where he is taking it. "Refs screwed us."


The way I read it, ND did not lose the ball on a possession when, by rule, they should have lost possession. The luck of the Irish!

FrankHtown Mon Feb 28, 2005 06:10pm

My question is: Did any official explain why ND got the ball back??

bigzilla Mon Feb 28, 2005 07:33pm

No, there was no explanation. The UCLA coach was calling for one, but didn't get it. The ball went out, the contacted ref immediately turned towards the bench with his hands raised as if signaling "what?", and then he pointed to the baseline indicating the ball stayed with ND. The other two refs come over to him, there is a discussion, and they break out and still go with ND. As far as the T, the coach was way out on the court and repeatedly said thats BS! The ref he was yelling at waved him off, and another ref stuck him. Then the same ref he was yelling at was in the collision. As far as this being "interference by game management", who was more able to avoid the collision, the ref running down court or the player running him down from behind? I say its as much the player's responsibility to see what is ahead of him as the ref's to avoid what is coming from behind. Personally, I thought the ref looked shook and made the possession call, and they didn't want to make him look any worse than the last two incidents already had by changing the decision.

tmp44 Wed Mar 02, 2005 02:23pm



Quote:

Ball is sailing OB, last touched by A, in front of B's bench. A1 has a reasonable chance to get the ball with clean hands. B coach extends his arms and catches the ball before the ball touches OB.

By rule, it's B's ball. What do you call?

(Yes, B coach is standing OB.)

I agree that I have a T in this sitch for the coach touching a live ball before it's dead. Further this, what if A1 goes to dive for the ball to save it while in the air and B Coach catches it? This is definitely a T, especially w/ the qualification that A1 has a reasonable chance to get the ball w/ clean hands.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1