![]() |
I've heard a few rules interpretted differently between officials lately. Here are a few of them, what is the correct interpretation?
1. Over and back: Throw in from near half court, offensive player jumps from frontcourt, catches ball in mid-air, lands in backcourt. Is this over and back? 2. Player is out of bounds without ball. Must player have both feet back in-bounds before touching the ball? 3. Top of backboard, how is the ball determined dead on a missed shot that goes over the backboard, touches the top and comes back into play, etc. 4. Can I player catch his own shot if the shot is an air ball? |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I believe it is out of bounds if it goes over a rectangular backboard, but I'm not too sure on that one without my rulebook with me. Quote:
|
Quote:
2. Yes 3. Top, sides and bottom are in play. Ball touches supports or wire or goes over backboard (rectangular) ball OB. 4. Yes Provided it's a try or tap. |
Quote:
|
I'm wondering about this rule interpretation from NCAA, then....
Rule 9-12-6 "A player shall be permitted to be the first to secure control of the ball after a jump ball or throw-in while both feet are off the playing court and the player lands with one or both feet in the back court." Is this not the exception to the "you are where you are until you get where you're going" rule? |
Now I gotta go check the fed rulebook
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
As BktBallRef said in a different post: "Had this been an NFL player, you would have been correct." :D
[Edited by tjones1 on Feb 25th, 2005 at 05:22 PM] |
Originally posted by lukealex
1. Over and back: Throw in from near half court, offensive player jumps from frontcourt, catches ball in mid-air, lands in backcourt. Is this over and back? <B> No. See Case Play 9.9.1 Situation B (c). It's your exact play. </b> 2. Player is out of bounds without ball. Must player have both feet back in-bounds before touching the ball? <b> No. See Case Play 4.35.2 (c) for your exact play. </b> 3. Top of backboard, how is the ball determined dead on a missed shot that goes over the backboard, touches the top and comes back into play, etc. <b> As soon as the ball passes <i> over </i> the backboard or hits any kind of support or guide wire, it's out of bounds. Rule 7.1 Article 2. </b> 4. Can I player catch his own shot if the shot is an air ball? <b> Yes, player control ends on a shot attempt. </b> Z |
Good job Zebraman. Just goes to show that even simple calls can be made into mistakes.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
"Note: When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard." [from 7.1.2 Situation A] "...The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane." |
Citation for #4
"4. Can a player catch his own shot if the shot is an air ball? "
Yes, player control ends on a shot attempt. In light of Zebraman's flurry of rule & case citations, see 4.43 Situation B for this play exactly!!! hehe -Joe |
Quote:
"Note: When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard." [from 7.1.2 Situation A] "...The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane." [/B][/QUOTE] Cool...I finally get to collect on my bet! What's your standard fee, 20%? |
2. Can have one foot on the court and one foot off the floor (in the air).
|
Quote:
What's your standard fee, 20%? [/B][/QUOTE] Buy some old neighbor a drink. ;) |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:53pm. |