
Fri Feb 25, 2005, 06:04pm
|
In Memoriam
|
|
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
|
|
Quote:
Originally posted by M&M Guy
Quote:
Originally posted by zebraman
As soon as the ball passes over the backboard or hits any kind of support or guide wire, it's out of bounds.
Rule 7.1 Article 2.
Z
|
Ok, I've had this discussion (ok, argument) with one of my partners before about this rule. I think we're all in agreement if a ball, say, bounces off the rim, goes over the top of the (rectangular) backboard, and goes behind it, it's out-of-bounds. Is it the same going in the opposite direction? For example, a player is diving over the baseline under the basket trying to save a ball from going out, and flips it up behind him where it goes from behind the backboard, over the top, and out to about the free throw line (all, of course, without hitting any supports or wires). Is that a violation as well? [/B]
|
YU.P., per note:
"Note: When the rectangular backboard is used, the ball is out of bounds if it passes over the backboard."
[from 7.1.2 Situation A]
"...The ball becomes dead if it passes over the top of a rectangular backboard regardless of the action which causes it to pass over or whether it comes from the front or back of the plane."
|