The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 23, 2005, 05:50pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 8,184
Quote:
Originally posted by bradfordwilkins
A1 shoots a 3 pointer and after the release of the shot before it goes in, we've got excessive pushing under the hoop with B1 fouling A2.

What happens here? Basket is obviously good but then what? Team A ball under the basket? Or what?

One of the other players in the game came up afterwards and told me when he had seen this happen in a high school game before it was one free-throw for A2.

Thanks in advance.

If Team A is in the bonus then A2 shoots free throws just like any other common foul, where the ball is to remain in play after the last free throw attempted by A2. If Team A is not in the bonus, then Team A receives the ball for a designated spot throw-in neares the spot of B1's foul. This is the same ruling for both NFHS and NCAA.

MTD, Sr.
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:40pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1