The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable error or not?? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/18693-correctable-error-not.html)

VaCoach Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:50am

Keeping in mind the 5 times that officials can make "corrections" to an error made at the foul line, respond to this situation I witnessed this weekend at a Tournament game. Foul called on A # 10...its a double bonus situation..as foul is reported to the table, one official is told its # 10's fifth foul..but he does not tell other members of the crew...which proceeds to administer the 2 shots.. Ball is bounced to the correct shooter and he makes first shot of two before the table and official stop the action to say it was the fifth foul and coach of A has not yet put in #10's substitute. He still was using his 30-second time limit.
Situation is this...What should be done with the first foul shot already made. Does it stand? Do you remove it and start over? This is not one of the five "correctable errors" as described in the rule book..Comments and reasoning?

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:52am

Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
Keeping in mind the 5 times that officials can make "corrections" to an error made at the foul line, respond to this situation I witnessed this weekend at a Tournament game. Foul called on A # 10...its a double bonus situation..as foul is reported to the table, one official is told its # 10's fifth foul..but he does not tell other members of the crew...which proceeds to administer the 2 shots.. Ball is bounced to the correct shooter and he makes first shot of two before the table and official stop the action to say it was the fifth foul and coach of A has not yet put in #10's substitute. He still was using his 30-second time limit.
Situation is this...What should be done with the first foul shot already made. Does it stand? Do you remove it and start over? This is not one of the five "correctable errors" as described in the rule book..Comments and reasoning?

Not correctable. Official's error. Let it stand, and move on. Let me guess. The officials made him reshoot, he missed, and they lost by 1.

Redhouse Tue Feb 22, 2005 09:53am

1st foul shot good, get sub in and continue with 2nd shot

VaCoach Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:19am

Same situation but slightly different...
 
I agree that the simplest thing to do is count the one shot, bring in the sub and then play...but what if: This was a bonus situation and the shooter had missed the first shot and there was a rebound and play while Team A still only had 4 players on the court?? Would you still do the same thing?? I would like to make a decision that could be used in all such situations and make it the same each time.

Adam Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:25am

Stop play to finish the sub process and give the ball back to the team who got the rebound.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 22, 2005 10:43am

Quote:

Originally posted by VaCoach
Keeping in mind the 5 times that officials can make "corrections" to an error made at the foul line, respond to this situation I witnessed this weekend at a Tournament game. Foul called on A # 10...its a double bonus situation..as foul is reported to the table, one official is told its # 10's fifth foul..but he does not tell other members of the crew...which proceeds to administer the 2 shots.. Ball is bounced to the correct shooter and he makes first shot of two before the table and official stop the action to say it was the fifth foul and coach of A has not yet put in #10's substitute. He still was using his 30-second time limit.
Situation is this...What should be done with the first foul shot already made. Does it stand? Do you remove it and start over? This is not one of the five "correctable errors" as described in the rule book..Comments and reasoning?

FED: As described above.

NCAA (at least, NCAAW): Cancel the shot, bring the sub in, reshoot the FTs.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1